Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 2 March 2013
The one thing that I missed was the map that is usually included in Warhammer novels. I had to keep one of my other books nearby, so I could have an idea of where these stories take place.

I was surprised by the different POVs in the stories, but I think it was the right touch for this anthology.

Slayer's Honour by Nathan Long was a strong start to the collection, including another slayer and his "rememberer." I loved the contrast between the two pairs. It highlighted the depth of the bond between Felix and Gotrek after all of the adventures that they've shared.

A Cask of Wynters by Josh Reynolds was a great story about Snorri Nosebiter, another slayer that has appeared in other Gotrek & Felix novels, but I didn't think the story fit well within this collection. However, I would love to see Snorri get his own series. *hint hint*

A Place of Quiet Assembly by John Brunnner featured the POV of Henkin Warsch, who is on a journey of personal discovery in regards to his past, and he crosses paths with Gotrek & Felix...fortunately for him. I loved the twist.

Kineater by Jordan Ellinger is a story about an ogre mercenary facing off with Gotrek, and it was one of my favorites in this anthology.

Prophecy by Ben McCallum was told from the POV of two twins with supernatural abilities. Definitely the most unique story in the collection, with an HP Lovecraft style to it.

The Tilean's Talisman by David Guymer was an awesome story featuring a Skaven POV. I loved it! I can't get enough of those Skaven tales...no pun intended.

Last Orders by Andy Smillie was a confusing tale about a bar fight...it wasn't bad, but I wasn't sure what the author was going for with that one.

MindStealer by CL Werner is a story told from Grey Seer Thanquol's POV. \m/ Horned Rat rules! \m/ I was soooo hoping Thanquol would make an appearnace in this anthology, and I wasn't disappointed. Definitely my number one favorite!

The Two Crowns of Ras Karim by Nathan Long is not only an action-packed foreign adventure featuring our two heroes, but it's a great example of Long's talent for writing an engaging fantasy story.

The Funeral of Gotrek Gurnisson by Richard Salter was told from Felix's POV, and includes an appearance by Ulrika, as well as some Skaven - perfect way to end the anthology!

I think if you are expecting something like Death and Dishonour, you might be a little disappointed with this anthology, but if you are simply looking for some great fantasy stories to add to your Warhammer collection, this is the collection for you.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
Short stories following doomed Slayer Gotrek Gurnisson's perilous adventures as he seeks a worthy doom, accompanied by the reluctant poet Felix Jaeger, who once drunkenly swore to record the dwarf's end in an epic poem. The anthology includes the best and worst of their stories. Gotrek suffers from a 'Hulk Smash' problem as a character. He seeks out the most dangerous things he can, and fights them to the death. He's very single-minded about it, and his obsession leaves little else of interest to write explore in the character. It's Felix who brings shade and story to what would otherwise be a series of scraps with little to recommend them. The best tales here remember this, including Nathan Long's two excellent entries and Richard Salter's romping final story. Many of the others replace Felix's point of view with other characters, and only John Brunner's journey into a cult gone wrong succeeded in holding my interest. A mixed bag, then. Some excellent adventuring, held back by some unsuccessful experimenting with what makes these characters work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 April 2012
OK, it is not secret that I love Felix and Gotrek's adventures, the epic battles, the character interaction and when mixed with classic action sequences alongside cracking pace, it's a treat all round as far as I'm concerned. Add to this now the chance for other Black Library Authors to play with the duo's fates and overall it's a series of stories that really does deliver for the majority (although the odd one sadly missed for me as a reader.)

All in, this is fun and of course a great way to grab a few minutes away from the real world to enjoy the duo's escapades as visited by other writers, its wonderfully edited, the readers in for a treat and as far as I'm concerned it was a set of tales that helped get deeper into the Warhammer world, more in keeping with Bill King's humble origins for these two characters as portrayed in the book Trollslayer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 February 2013
There can be very few who come to this book who don't know who the protagonists, Felix Jaeger and Gotrek Gurnisson, are. Anyone who doesn't should start elsewhere: this is a book for those who know the stories already and are looking for more.

Nine authors provide their takes on what are possibly the most iconic characters of the Warhammer world. Sadly, none of them is William King, their creator. The results are variable.

Some of the views of the Slayer and his companion might surprise. John Brunner's story, presumably written in the early 90s when GW sought out well known authors, has a take on Gotrek's character that varies from King's a bit. That said, this was for me one of the better and more interesting stories here.

Others feel like efforts to flatter through cpying the original. 'Kineater' by Jordan Ellinger manages to capture something of the style of the originals - there is action, an exotic and fantastic locale, adventure and a solidly rooted feel in a plausible Old World. And humour that works - here provided by Felix's literary pretensions and some unexpected critical feedback. Excellent stuff.

C L Werner's story, based on the character of Thanquol, a spin off from the original series, is also a high point. The humourous approach works well here.

Nathan Long, who took over writing duties from King, provides two stories. One is great fun, the other less so. The first story - and by far the longest in the collection - appears to be his homage to King's 'The Dark Beneath the World' (itself effectively an homage to Tolkien's Mines of Moria section and at one point in Long's story there is a direct reference to the Lord of the Rings movie). Sadly, it is a fairly lifeless affair. Dwarfs fight monsters of various sorts but it is fairly hard to tell them apart in terms of how they act. An attack by ghouls might as well be by any other sort of monster as no feeling of horror accompanies it. Compare this to Kiing's description of skeletons attacking in 'Wolf Riders'. A plot about another Slayer and his Rememberer feels squandered - most readers could think of a more interesting way of dealing with the potential situation than the rather obvious resolution of plot threads here. By contrast, Long's other story set, in Araby, is brimming with pulpy goodness - atmosphere, humour, action and life. An excellent example of what he can obviously do.

Other stories also misfire for me, at least. The second, A Cask of Wynters, being a particularly poor example: high on action but low on depth, description or internal plausibility - the things that make a story really work.

Nostalgia prompted me to pick up this collection of short stories. I'd first read William King's stories about these two characters as a teenager in 1989. Each of GW's short story collections contained a new story. The adventures were irregular and it was unclear if the series would be brought to a conclusion by the death of Gotrek at any point (indeed an original draft of the first story apparently ended in his death). Over the years I'd occasionally read King's follow up novels. Some were good, others less so.

The shadow of William King's original short stories hangs heavily over this collection. It is perhaps a shame that William King could not be persuaded to contribute. At their best, the stories come very close to emulating the style and spark that animated the originals; at their worst, they fall very flat indeed.

An enjoyable trip with old friends on new adventures, then, but not a book I'm likely to return to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2012
I ordered this book for my teenage son as he enjoys this series.
It was a reasoable price and it arrived promptly.
My son enjoyed the book and hardly put it down.
Would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2012
Short pieces, varying in length from rather short to a decent story. Good style generally and some interesting ideas. Better than the Nathan Long books can be at times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2012
Gotrek and Felix: The Anthology, I had my doubts about, but at its reasonable price and great content for the money you pay, I'm no longer concerned. Not only does this give an insight to the duo Gotrek the Slayer and Felix the Bard, but it also puts you in the mood to read other fantasy novels like it! If you worry about reading of the other books in the series and think you won't finish it, this is for you - 1O stories in one small book for you to read by different authors. This is only the start of an amazing journey through the life and times of Gotrek and Felix!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 6 May 2012
Within this novel readers will find ten stories based on the characters of the Gotrek and Felix series. Below I list each title, author, give a synopsis, star rating, and a very short review. Overall, I would give this novel a three star rating. Gotrek and Felix are not the main characters in every story. In my opinion, fans of the dwarf/human team will be disappointed in about half of these tales. On the plus side, the two stories by Nathan Long are worth the price of the entire book. You will also meet a few of the favorite secondary characters, such as Snorri Nosebiter, Grey Seer Thanquol, and Ulrika Magdova. You do not have to be a fan of the series to enjoy this novel, but it sure does make the stories more fun!

(1) Slayer's Honour by Nathan Long

After their misadventures in the Black Gulf left them stranded south of the Dragonback Mountains, Slayer Gotrek Gurnisson and his rememberer, Felix Jaeger, decide to go after the dread spider known as the White Widow in the dwarf hold of Ekrund. It is said that the spider is as big as a steam tank and would be a grand doom for a slayer. But to go after the giant cave spider, the duo must first help get rid of the greenskin menace that stands in their way.

***** FIVE STARS! Once again, Nathan Long does his best to grant Gotrek the doom he desires so much. This time the dwarf and human face a huge spider, but the author throws a lot of various enemies in their path first. Slayer Agnar Arvastsson and his rememberer, Henrik Daschke, join the pair in battles against orcs, skaven, and more. Non-stop action and suspense kept me glued to the pages until the very end. Awesome! *****

(2) A Cask of Wynters by Josh Reynolds

Slayer Snorri Nosebiter and the templars of the Order of the Black Bear are on a mission of honor. By the request of a new slayer, Grundi Halfhand, they travel to the brewery of Grundi's father to retrieve the Master-Brewer's body and the last cask of Wynters' Own. But more is going on at the brewery than Snorri thought.

*** THREE STARS! Short and sweet with the typical flavor of Snorri, but there is as much action as there is character introductions. ***

(3) A Place of Quiet Assembly by John Brunner

Henkin Warsch decides to visit a place he had last seen twenty years before, the Schrammel Monastery. But things are not quite as he remembers them to have been. Luckily for Warsch, the two others travelling in the coach are Gotrek and Felix.

** TWO STARS! I found the character of Warsch to be very well done; however, the characters of Gotrek and Felix rang false. Low on action. **

(4) Kineater by Jordan Ellinger

Gotrek Gurnisson and Felix Jaeger are part of Zayed al Mahrak's caravan. Zayed had hired ogre mercenaries as additional escorts. Zayed does not realize his error until the ogres betray and attack the group. Surprisingly, the only thing the ogres seem to want is one of the Nitikin sisters. Anya demands that they rescue her younger sister, Talia; however, only Gotrek and Felix agrees to assist.

**** FOUR STARS! This short story does justice to the Gotrek and Felix saga. Lots of action and a twist or two. Well done! ****

(5) Prophecy by Ben McCallum

Kelmain and Lhoigor are brothers. Twins. They have the Changer's favor; therefore, are known for their nightmarish visions. This time the pair share a vision of the Slayer.

** TWO STARS! Gotrek and Felix have been downsized to secondary characters in this story. The brothers' vision touches on Gotrek's beginning as a slayer and Felix's giving the dwarf his oath. The entire story is mostly told in the form of a narration. Beautiful wording, but little suspense or real action. **

(6) The Tilean's Talisman by David Guymer

A skaven called Siskritt seeks to steal a talisman from around the neck of a human merchant. But in order to do so, Siskritt must avoid Felix and Gotrek.

*** THREE STARS! This tale is told from Siskritt's view point. Grey Seer Thanquol is mentioned in passing, but I can see no reason as to why. The story jumps around a bit, but is still pretty good. ***

(7) Last Orders by Andy Smillie

Fredric Gerlach is the barkeep of the Skewered Dragon. After surviving a massive fight in his bar, he is approached by Watch Officer Herman Faulkstein who insists on hearing exactly what had happened.

*** THREE STARS! Gotrek and Felix are minor characters in this story. What small part they play does not ring true to me either. Yet the author does a good job on giving a surprise twist on the plot. Very interesting. ***

(8) Mind-stealer by C.L. Werner

Grey Seer Thanquol has survived Steelgrin's scheme to ransack the treasury of Bonestash. But Thanquol's newest version of Boneripper was damaged in the battle. This Boneripper is a skeletal automaton fuelled by a warpstone heart and driven by technosorcery. As a tinker-rat fixes his bodyguard, Thanquol hears that his mortal enemies, Gotrek and Felix, are near. With the blessings of the Horned One, Thanquol would have his vengeance against them.

***** FIVE STARS! All Felix and Gotrek fans know Thanquol. Thanquol is the most powerful of all skaven sorcerers - at least in his own mind. This story takes place shortly after the third Thanquol & Boneripper novel, titled Thanquol's Doom, ends. In this short tale, the grey seer will learn what it must feel like to be in Boneripper's paws. Awesome! *****

(9) The Two Crowns of Ras Karim by Nathan Long

Felix and Gotrek enter Ras Karim seeking a legendary monster said to haunt the desert south of the city. Thanks to some drugged beer, the two find themselves in a dungeon, guests of the wicked Calip Falhedar and his chief sorcerer, Dujedi. Gotrek is forced to fight a chimera for the entertainment of a crowd while Felix converses with a fellow prisoner named Halim il Saredi and learns about the city's corrupt rulers. Gotrek and Felix help Halim escape, but only because Halim knows where their weapons are stored away. But to retrieve their weapons, Gotrek and Felix must help overthrow the caliph and his sorcerer.

***** FIVE STARS! More goes on than I state in my synopsis. This story is non-stop action and it kept me glued until the very end. *****

(10) The Funeral of Gotrek Gurnisson by Richard Salter

Slayer Gotrek Gurnisson and Felix Jaeger, his rememberer, enter the Sigmar-forsaken town of Kutenholz as they search for the cursed liche Pragarti. Gotrek ends up poisoned by the dart of an assassin. Felix pays to give his fallen friend a funeral, where he meets up with a former lover, Ulrika Magdova. The vampire also seeks Pragarti. The sorceress has managed to elude Ulrika for far too long. But Felix soon discovers that the coffin is filled with books. Gotrek's body is missing. Human and vampire team up to find the body of the dwarf and to deal with Pragarti once and for all.

**** FOUR STARS! A terrific "who-dunnit" mystery/fantasy. This story has several minor twists, as well as a surprise or two. ****

Reviewed by Detra Fitch (...)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse