Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 16 May 2017
Maybe I'm just suffering a bit of burnout when it comes to war in the 41st millennium, but I found this to be distinctly average fare. It wasn't bad by any stretch of the imagination, but I found myself floundering about half way through - which is not something you want to happen with a book that's under three hundred pages long...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2017
Not a bad story but the ending was poor,almost unfinished, just taking the main characters slightly further would have resulted in 5 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 December 2010
Everyone is starting to pay attention to the Necron's so when it becomes the everyday trooper that has to fight these walking immortal undead then it's a pretty hefty scary title. Here within this offering from the Black Library, the Death Korps are back and this time their dirty dozen face an enemy the like of which they have little hope of surviving. Beautifully written this charnel house of a story not only has a high body count but also presents the reader with a world where resistance is met head on with bullets and destruction. A cracking piece of writing from Steve and demonstrates why he's a master of the Imperial Guards.

Whilst many others love the sheer power and abilities of the Astarte's I love the average human tackling a job that even they would blanch at. A seriously cracking piece of writing and one that will keep you glued to the last page. Great stuff.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 27 November 2010
None are more unfeeling than the Death Korps of Krieg. A Krieg Guardsman has no hopes, no dreams, no desires, nothing but his orders. As far as he is concerned, there is nothing left but a violent end. Now they are ordered to a mining planet named Hieronymous Theta where, after sleeping deep underground for millions of years, the Necrons are awakening. The planet is rich in minerals, a valuable resource to the Imperium, thus not to be given up easily.

Mine overseer Gunthar Soreson never considered himself to be a hero. He would rather run than fight. But when it becomes plain to see that the Planetary Defense Force is ill equipped to deal with the remorseless metal warriors and Arex, the woman he loves, is trapped within the sealed capital city, Gunthar has no choice in the matter. Gunthar will train and then fight with the Death Korps of Krieg to either rescue Arex or wipe out her killers.

**** FOUR STARS! There is an interesting mix of unemotional characters on both sides of this war. After finishing the book, I still find myself uncertain as to which is stonier, the Necrons or the Krieg Guardsmen. The author also follows a few civilians, breaking up the morbidity of endless battles in favor of showing the realistic and not always humane reactions of humans during the fallout.

Author Steve Lyons has an impetuous writing style, rooted in the dark imagery of warfare, which kept me enthralled from start to finish. ****

Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2011
The death korps of Krieg are drafted in to take on a Necron uprising and throughout this battle there is some good character develoment.

I enjoyed it because im used to the space marine books where they are so sure of everything. This was a nice change to see how humans would cope with such an ordeal.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2011
Lots of good characters, but I could have done with a bit more of the Death Korps. I realise they are quite boring and hard to write, being essentially cyphers. But that just allows you to concentrate on their martial prowess - something that I think a lot of Black Library stuff misses out on the large scale battle overview - which is a missed opportunity considering its source.

However, other than that, the story was good, the characters interesting (if somewhat dissapated because of the number of them) and if I could only make one more criticism is that it was too short (not wrongly paced, just too short) so not that bad a criticism.

If I could, it woudl be 3.5 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2013
I would consider this novel to be standard material of the warhammer 40K universe. To relentless parties facing each other, and a whole bunch of innocent bystanders who got caught in between. The action takes place on a densely populated world of hive cities and is centred around the evolution of anormal, constantly scared citizen to become a fighting member of the Imperial Army.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2015
An interesting look into a rather unique and grim regiment of the imperial guard. mixed in with bit of a love story, interesting choice...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2011
As many others have pointed out, the book is about Death Korps vs. Necrons.

This is easily the only book have not been able to put down (and thats saying a lot about a man who read all of the Ciaphas Cain novels. BTW, great books too) but there was an element in the book that really annoyed me. Specifically the addition of a cliché love story within a book that is supposed to be about War.
The romance doesn't involve any Krieg soldier, but any war story i read im always expecting it to focus on the good guys (in this case the Imperium) vs the bad guys, and i dont want to read about how some girl wants her boyfriend to hold her because she's in difficulty and distress (by this alone you could probably guess how it all ends. the romance i mean, not the book).
The good thing about this, is that the chapters are split into each character so you can choose to skip that section, if this sort of thing annoys you as much as it does me.

Other than that little hiccup, i thought the book was great. Steve Lyons really captured what i had imagined the Death Korps were like to be around and deal with.
I had wished that there would be more detail to the battle scenes, but what is there is pretty awesome.

So in summary, if your an Imperial Guard nut and especially a Death Korps of Krieg nut, you will most definately like this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2015
Awesome!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse