Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Eminem Shop now Shop now



on 22 August 2013
What a gem ! I laughed out loud a few times reading this book.. I was reduced to tears of laughter on a couple of occassions.. The author has a very dry sense of humour, hes lets face he is useless at DIY and his wife has a lot of jobs lined up for him. Almost every stray they take in requires a home building for it.. the hens.. the horses who both hate him so much.. how on earth can a horse be " Spiteful " ???.. never the less Ian thinks the horse has got it " in for him" by the end of the book I had to agree!!

I hope there is more to follow..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 November 2014
Having read an article in Living France about the author I expected something a cut above the rest of the living the French dream type of book. Didn't get it. Kept thinking the book would "go somewhere". It didn't. Lots of text about the author's commuting and angst about lifestyle but the whole thing left me wondering what he thought he was trying to achieve with the book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 March 2017
EXCELLENT! The author's style puts you right in amongst the family in a really effective way. Well done, Ian!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 June 2017
Funny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 April 2017
Up there with all the best - Who needs Harry Potter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 June 2013
Enjoyed this book, very funny and I found this to be strangely quite calming. This is mood read.a must buy!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 July 2013
I read David Niven's 'The Moon's a Balloon' when I was 15. The scene were he sticks his frost bitten plums in a glass of brandy is the funniest moment in any autobiography. It can not be beaten.

However, Ian Moore gets very, very close. He also gets very, very close on many occasions. In fact there is not a single page where I did not laugh, wince, feel the pathos or splutter tea over the gloriously written prose.

Further, this is a book that can be read and enjoyed by anyone old enough to know that life doesn't always (if ever) go according to plan. Mr Moore's 'A la Mod' can be recommended with confidence to maiden aunt (the more bawdy subject matter is handled with delicate precision and expert use of vocabulary rarely seen outside of Shakespeare) to your football hooligan mate Trevor, who only gets excited when pain is involved.

Perfect for a holiday read, or to give reason to the futility of commute.

If there is a heaven, David Niven is certainly reading this splendid tome with a glass of brandy and laughing hard.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 May 2013
This is certainly one of the best books that I have ever read. Warm hearted, loving and honest. One of the few books that have made me laugh out loud. Ian describes everything so well and his love for his family shines through each page. It's not an easy life - but the reader can read between the lines and realise that he wouldn't have it any other way. This book is a joy to read and I hope everyone enjoys it as much as me. [...]
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 August 2013
Not only is this book very funny - it is also very honest. Ian Moore admits to being grumpy and moody, he confesses to being useless at anything to do with DIY though and he refuses to stop wearing his 60's mod gear even though he lives in rural France, surrounded by fields and animals and the locals give him strange looks in the town. A true British eccentric abroad!

Although this is a light-hearted look at life for an expat in France who works in the UK as many expats do, it is clear that continuing to commute to the UK to work takes its toll with the constant travelling and missing a family and wife whom he obviously adores. Ian and wife Natalie wrack their brains trying to think of something they can do in France that will bring in an income and cut down Ian's away time - a problem for many expats. The book is also a source of very handy little snippets of information about life in France - from the tradition of being able to leave "big rubbish" out for the dustmen twice a year to getting your kids into school.

As he is a stand-up comedian I was worried that the book would be full of gags, but it isn't. It is quite gentle humour on the whole, Ian comes across as self-deprecating and modest, a quality I found made him immensely likeable. A really excellent first book - look forward to sequel!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 May 2013
This book is a delight from start to finish. Written with a wonderful flare for the language and a sharp eye for the subtle nuances and absurdities of every day life, it gives you an hilarious window into the trials and tribulations encountered when the most English of Englishmen and his family move lock, stock and barrel to the south of France. It's full of the kind of genuinely funny moments and observations that'll have you laughing out loud and then recounting what you've just read to those around you. Refreshingly free of cliches, you feel like you're getting a real insight into life in rural France and a unique and warm-hearted perspective on what makes our gallic cousins tick.
Misses Moore's endearing if impractical desire to adopt every unloved animal in France is the source of many of the book's funniest moments but undoubtedly, the star of the show is Junior the hate-filled horse who the author is locked in a never-ending and futile battle of wills with.
I'd whole-heartedly recommend this book to anyone. It's an ideal holiday read or a perfect way to turn your daily commute into a joy. Now I've finished it, my girlfriend has started reading it to see why I've been chuckling away so much and I've already ordered a copy for my Dad as an early Father's day present.
Read it - I guarantee you won't be disappointed!
11 Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse