Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Elizabeth David on Vegetables
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£20.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 16 April 2015
Beautifully produced compilation of vegetable recipes from one of the first post war cookery writers who brought a blast of Mediterranean sunshine into gloomy post war British kitchens.It must have all seemed like a distant and posh dream then, but now the ingredients are everyday items.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2016
This was bought as a present for my sister in law. She was delighted with it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 January 2016
Another classic from the classical chef.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2016
good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 November 2015
I havn't opened the book yet as it is for a gift, but it looks lovely!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2015
Great book at a fantastic price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 March 2017
When I think of good, I mean really good, books on vegetables for cooks, there are not many, but as being primarily a vegetarian – although I have learnt to eat what is put in front of me otherwise you may be dissing the cook – possibly your host too, for their efforts - and that is much worse than being ruled by some idea to which you have become rather attached. There are a lot of excellent cookbooks out there, but I remember always used to estimate what proportion of the contents were directed towards meat; but times have changed, I mean the first cookery book I ever bought was a little paperback called French Provincial Cooking, I do not know how long ago. Yes there were meat recipes there, but they were not why I bought the book: I knew zilch.

This is a beautiful book, and I am not at all concerned at all that it may be printed in China; compiled by Jill Norman, and beautifully illustrated by Kristin Perers. The best cook-books belong in the kitchen, not on the coffee table; although some would not be out of place there either, and this one is an example of excelling in what is, after all, a secondary role. There is of course the practical side that nice colour illustrations entail a production cost. For anyone who has Elizabeth David’s books on French or Italian Cooking, many of the recipes here will not be unfamiliar, and it is an astute publisher who catches the thread. Someone once said that a characteristic of Elizabeth David’s writing is that she makes you want to cook. Doubtless some future reviewer may be making the same kind of comment about a similarly intelligent compilation from Claudia Roden. It is very well organized, in the sense that we have soups, starters, mains, sweets, etc, and it is now my fourth, purely vegetable cookery book, although Meera Sodha’s ‘Fresh from India’ is knocking at the same bookshelf because it lives up to its title. The others already there are Carluccio’s ‘Vegetables” which tells one a lot about the Italian attitude to vegetables; two books which I count as one – The Greens Cookbook and Vegetable Literacy by the American, Deborah Madison – who seems to know things that other cooks never knew or have forgotten about vegetables, and Vegistan by Sally Butcher which led the way into exploring the brilliant vegetable cuisine of the Middle East – long before I had ever heard of Ottelonghi. Exemplary production and organization, and keeping fully in the David tradition of simplicity, which is of course the key point with traditional cuisines. This is a delight to browse, and a delight to use. I have just started getting second hand copies of writings from her journals, like ‘Is there a nutmeg in the house;’ informative and very entertaining. This compilation is also, informative, and, very practical.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2013
There are some lovely recipes and as always with Elizabeth David they are foolproof. Beautiful pictures to inspire you to try recipes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2013
Excelant text and information along with the recipes of this wonderful chef who changed British cooking at an austere time
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 March 2014
I bought this after borrowing a copy from the library. It is a really good book for vegetarians and non alike. Good price too and arrived in a few days as described.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)