Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Scandinavian Christmas
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 23 August 2013
This slim volume is filled with beautiful photographs, mostly of the recipes by also of suitably festive scenes.

The book is divided into chapters on Christmas Baking, Gifts from the Kitchen, Advent: A Whole Month of Christmas, Festive Brunch, Christmas Party, The Christmas Eve Feast and Christmas Day Smörgåsbord.

Each recipe is preceded by a short descriptive passage, which may include an indicator to the recipe style ("A very dense rye bread"), a cultural reference ("The almond gift") or a personal anecdote ("We always serve pork belly with apple sauce, though others serve it with fried apples and onions").

Almost all of ingredients may easily found in an average supermarket. The exceptions, of which there are very few, include lingonberries, Vesterhavs cheese and Sea Buckthorn Vinegar. The Scandinavian Kitchen in Great Titchfield Street, London is generally a good source for such items.

The recipes themselves are generally easy to make.

There are lots of spiced biscuits and cakes which call for cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, cardamom, cloves, honey, vanilla and saffron in varying quantities. The Spiced Christmas cake (includes dark chocolate, cinnamon, ginger and dark muscovado sugar) is delicious. Several of the biscuit recipes are suitable for using as edible Christmas tree decorations.

As is to be expected, marzipan makes an appearance in a number of recipes. For those who have a kransekage pan, perhaps the one from Lakeland, then there is an excellent Kransekage (almond cake) recipe on page 98.

There is a recipe for Lucia bread, the saffron-spiced sultana bread which is generally shaped into old Nordic symbols. It is perfectly good but personally I prefer the one in Meyers Bageri by Claus Meyer [ISBN 9-788711-434741], though that book is written in Danish.

Then there are the roast and stewed meats with their accompaniments. The meats are ones familiar to British butchers, such as duck and pork. The vegetables are most commonly root vegetables or kale, often spiced or sweetened. The Roast Pork with Spices and Crisp Crackling is wonderful with the Caramel Potatoes and Red Cabbage. There are also some very useful suggestions for leftovers, such as Duck, Orange and Almond Salad.

The drinks are few in number, essentially confined to cordial recipes (including Gløgg) and other drinks which incorporate those cordials.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 January 2015
Great to be able to get a bit of a change from the normal British Christmas standards like mince pies. We were getting bored doing the same thing every year. Good if you want to plan ahead a bit, lots of the recipes would not be good if you open the book two days before Christmas. The baking things are lovely - not for somebody who never did anything like it before (the Danish pastries came out OK but took me half a day to fiddle about with). NOTE - this book stands up all year round, not just for Christmas. She could sell more in February if she didn't have the Christmas word in the title.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 January 2013
This cookbook is fantastic and full of recipes that my Danish mor (Mum) and, especially, my Danish mormor (Grandma) used to make.

Pretty much all the traditional Danish favourites are included in the book - frikadeller (meatballs), rugbrød (rye bread), leverpostej (liver pate), pebernødder (pepper nuts) etc. My only criticism is that the Danish names aren't always stated with the recipe, just the English ones.

Her rye bread recipe is brilliant, the bread was delicious and almost as good as the stuff you get in Denmark. Plus it was very simple to make with no kneading required, just lots of time!

I can highly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 3 June 2014
I've long been a fan of the Scandanavians, and not just Ikea! They have a simplistic attitude to life, home, style and baking and this book combines all of these.

Written in an easy to follow format, with lovely photographic illustrations and inspiring text, it's an excellent baking book for anyone wanting to get out of the 'Victoria Sandwich/Scone/Flapjack/Shortbread' rut and into some truly delicious cakes.

Don't sit there reading this review, order it now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2018
In print it might have been worthy of time but on a kindle a book like this is pointless. Hard to focus on and black and white images. Kindle isn't for this sort of book and that's what my score is mainly based on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 January 2013
I bought this book for my Danish husband and I. It's choc full of recipes he remembers his mother making. Lovely pictures too, and many things we intend to make when time allows. Home-made peppernuts is first on our list ... once we're finished eating the bought ones we seem to have stock-piled!
After seeing the book we bought copies for my brother and sister in the hope they'd be similarly inspired.
Lovely book ... and not just for Christmas!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 October 2015
It makes me happy just reading it. The recipes are all achievable and most use ingredients we can get easily in GB. The decoration ideas are all lovely and again use things that are easy to obtain. The layout and photos are gorgeous - a lovely book to have on your shelf.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2012
I had read other reviews of how beautifully this book is presented ( and already have two other books by this author), so am enjoying flicking through its photos and recipes on dull days in the plod up,to Christmas. Some of the recipes......especially the Nordic fish ones.....would never appeal to me. I do wonder whether the daily jollity and gathering of family and neighbours - even over barbecues in the snow" - are as commonplace as she depicts. I do envy the warm sense of season and tradition, though, so the book will lift my spirits for that reason alone.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 December 2017
The book evokes the sharing, feasting and cosiness of Christmas in snow bound climes. Rich recipes for feasting in traditional fashion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 December 2014
This book is full of beautiful photos, with every recipe having it's own photo, I love all of the sweet recipes: cakes, biscuits, confectionary, drinks etc, and look forward to making some of them as gifts this Christmas. The savouries look interesting but I will leave those for next autumn and winter.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)