Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 18 December 2012
love some of the receipes in this book. I borrowed it from the library and then just had to have my own copy! I loved the raitas!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2008
This book is wonderful. The recipes are fantastic and the taste of food is amazing.
I try and cook one recipe a week from this book for my husband and i. The Coconut Chicken recipe is our favourite. You put three different types of Coconut in it (dessicated, cream and milk) and you think to yourself whilst cooking it that it is going to be coconut and nothing else, but it isn't you get all different types of flavours it is wonderful.
When i have to reduce the numbers with the recipes i do not reduce the amount of sauce that i have to make and i do find i do not have to much sauce.
Also try the Lamb Burgers. I cook them all off and leave 2 for the next day. I always enjoy the two i have the next day far more than the others i had the previous night. So so tasty.
You would be a fool not to buy this book. The recipes are very easy. Still i was a chef for over 15 years but i do feel everyone will be able to do these recipes with one hand tied behind their backs.
Buy this book. Trust me....
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 November 2007
I've had this book for a few weeks now and everything I make is a success, and is so easy! One of my main reasons give it 5 stars is that this must be the first book I can get all of the ingredients at my local supermarket, which isn't that big, (well i'll be honest, minus mango powder!). Don't worry about the quantity as the pastes you creat look tiny but soon bulk out. And the best part? clear and simple english, with no nigella style comments! who needs them?
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2010
The title says it all - the recipes are so easy, and delicious, I've even made some of the breads. Living in France its not so easy to source all the ingrediants (flours mainly) but the alternatives given by Anjum work very well. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 October 2011
Have made a couple of recipes from the book and found them easy to follow and really good tasting. Had to buy a few things so that I could follow the recipes - but like to make them from scratch rather then through in a jar of sauce. Although a little more time consuming definitely worth while.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 March 2012
This book is great, i'm not a fantastic cook, but everything i've made from this book has been fantastic - if you like indian food and an easy life buy this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2007
I love Indian food but find it quite hard to recreate at home. This book makes it easy! I have already made two recipes (much to my husband's delight) and think it makes Indian cooking really accessible to people who are novices with spices etc.
Love it.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 February 2008
From the front cover flap (and not in the Amazon description at the time of writing):

'Indian Food Made Easy accompanies the BBC TV series in which Anjum Anand creates delicious Indian food that is light, healthy and bursting with flavour. Anjum is passionate about using fresh, local and seasonal produce, and all the ingredients are readily available in supermarkets. All Anjum's recipes are easy to follow and use simple cooking methods. Her dishes range from quick snacks to slow-cooked curries, and from breakfast dishes to easy midweek suppers.
All the recipes from the TV series and more are included in this book......and throughout there are tips and techniques to make cooking Indian food easy.
The book begins with guidance on using the various spices and advises you on the store-cupboard basics, while a useful glossary demystifies any unfamiliar ingredients.
If you have ever wanted to try cooking Indian food, this is the book for you.'

Personally, I have never been terribly confident in my ability with Indian cooking, but this book did inspire me to branch out in this direction...and discipline myself into giving plenty of time for the marinade stage! I have to admit to first class success with the 'Succulent Chicken Tikka Wraps', 'Tandoori Lamb Wraps' and the divine and very delicate 'Potato and Pea Samosas', the latter being achieved by taking Anjum's advice to simplify and lighten the recipe by 'using shop-bought filo pastry!

160 high quality pages, spilt into main chapters:

1. Light Meals and Snacks
2. Chicken
3. Meat
4. Fish and Seafood
5. Vegetables
6. Lentils and Beans
7. Bread and Rice
8. Raitas and Chutneys
9. Drinks and Desserts

with an introduction, brief sections entitled:

* The Indian Kitchen Made Easy
* The Recipes Made Easy

along with a list of suppliers, the glossary and a concise index.

From the introduction:

'.....In the UK, Indian food has been on a journey of evolution. We have moved on from inauthentic creamy, fruity curries and can now easily find tandoori and regional options. But there is still so much to discover.
India is a country that has so much to offer.
It is food that is eaten for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It is everyday food; food for children, adults, friends and family.
But every cuisine has all these elements so why has the obvious escaped us for so long?
Why has Indian food been relegated to the upper shelves of book stores - the back bench of the United Nations of Cookery and out of most people's reach for so long?
It has been a long road getting there and a slow but exciting journey, but thankfully we can now experience Indian food the way it was intended, at home.'

Each chapter opens with a 2-page spread of a selection of the recipes contained within, to whet the appetite!
Each recipe is clearly laid out with the number of servings, the list/s of ingredients, the title, the method. and a relevant note, e.g.: getting back to those aforementioned 'Succulent Chicken Tikka Wraps:

'These easy wraps make a perfect light lunch. Don't let the cheese in the marinade throw you - this is an authentic tandoori recipe. Cheese was first introduced as a way to quieten the flavours of the original Tikka for the tourists, the strong flavours being replaced with more delicate spices. The result was so delicious that this has now become a standard tandoori recipe and is found across India. We often make mini versions to serve with pre-dinner drinks, and the chicken is also great served with salad and raita.'

A small taste of the other recipes included:

* Masala Scrambled Eggs
* Savoury Semolina Cake
* Paneer and Vegetable Skewers
* Oven-Fried Chilli Chicken
* My Chicken Korma
* Classic Northern Chicken Curry
* Curried Lamb Meatballs
* Easy All-in-One Lamb Curry
* Tandoori Monkfish
* Green Fish Curry
* Bengali-style Baked Fish
* Mangalorean Prawn Curry with Rice Dumplings
* Mussels with Dry Coconut
* Stir-fried Nigella Cabbage
* Sweetcorn Cob Curry
* Simple Spinach and Lentil Curry
* Basmati Rice
* Wild Mushroom Pilaff
* Simple Layered Flatbreads/Roti/Naan
* Pomegranate Raita
* Green Chutney
* Steamed Yoghurt
* Mango Smoothie
* Kulfi
* Orange Scented Rice Creams
* Coconut Sweets

Colour photography throughout, with the majority of the main dishes featured.
0Comment| 98 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 March 2008
If you are after easy to follow recipe which deliver authentic results, this is the book for you. I really can't recommend this book highly enough.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 November 2009
this book ideal for beginers who wish to learn how to made indian food,it gives you step by step guides for starters,main courses and deserts and drinks,well worth the money
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)