Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
113
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£20.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 20 November 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a cookbook from a man who, like his outings in the Great British Menu, allows the fish to be the main event. Each fish comes with lots of information about seasonality and, more importantly, allows you to pick several different combinations of sauces and accompaniments for each. Sourcing some of the fish may be problematic depending on where you live in the UK and the presentation is a bit fiddly and if I really was to criticise I would like to see more recipes for smoked fish given how ubiquitous smoked fish is across the UK compared to the likes of Witch and Sardines. However, there are recipes in here for all abilities and the list of ingredients is manageable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 August 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
In this richly illustrated volume, Nathan Outlaw provides detailed advice on the preparation of fish and shellfish found round the British Isles, and for that alone, the book is a good investment. Sadly, the mouthwatering recipes often contain ingredients which are not easily obtainable, certainly not where I live, and delicious as they may be, this will prove a barrier for everyone but the most dedicated fish enthusiast. Some simpler recipes would have increased the star rating on this review, but as it is, three will have to do.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2012
Everything I wanted to say about this book has been said by all of the above.
It is brilliant! I can't wait to cook my way through it, I am off to the Fishmonger!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book is by far the most instructive and informative book I have come across so far, covering just about every aspect of choosing, preparing, cooking and presenting seafood. The illustrations are beautiful, and I am looking forward to years of enjoyment. 100% recommended to any seafood lover.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 February 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I like Nathan Outlaw as a chef having seen him on various cooking shows, however I am left disappointed with his book.
I found the recipes to be complicated and a little too fancy for home cooking.
I do not think this book will be opened very often if at all - shame.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 October 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I love cookbooks. I also love cooking although get very little time to do it.
This cookbook is my second that deals with fish and it is also already one of my favourites.

Not only are the recipes really good but some real thought has gone into the design and layout as I will detail below.

Why is this book so good?

Logic.
It is beautifully laid out.
Flat white fish, Round white fish, Oily fish, Smoked fish, Shellfish. Perfect. It also has some great chapters on base recipes and preparation techniques.

Each fish the book examines also gives history of the fish and then brakes down the recipes and how best to cook it.
It is actually really impressive and you can tell this was put together by someone with some serious knowledge. I liked the way how preparation techniques and basic sauces are indicated on the cover page of each fish telling you if it goes with a particular base sauce that is outlined in the last chapter of the book.

The recipes are also beautifully laid out. With information on how many people the recipe will serve and easy to follow cooking instructions.
Also I must say the photography is epic as well and the serving suggestions, well they are actually achievable for once!

So yes that's the deal. This book is great and has definitely led to our family eating more fish!
Also really need to stress the recipe's are tasty. Some of them have involved a lot of work but to be honest I found it to be worthwhile.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 September 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
A 2 starred Michelin chef, Nathan Outlaw has featured on the BBC Great British Menu programme, and Saturday Kitchen.

The best bits of the book are actually, in my view, not the recipes themselves - more on those later - but the opening of each section. The book is organised by fish - Brill, lemon Sole, etc, and the starting section covers how it is best cooked, what garnishes to use, sauces & dressings and accompaniments. This is sheer genius!

The end sections cover how to fillet, etc a range of fish - absolutely useful and beautifully illustrated with photographs.

The recipes combine fish with different ingredients, so there is a twist on the classic fish and chip recipe, alongside more classical dishes (baked sea bass with soused vegetables and smoked paprika potatoes).

All in all this is one of those recipe books which will inspire, and provoke - more for having people round to share and admire, more restauranty than every day, but definitely a good buy, and one which would be appreciated as a gift.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 October 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Nathan Outlook is already well known to the general public through his TV appearances. As a specialist in sea food, it's no surprise that he has produced this book. And it's excellent. It is very well laid out, with detailed descriptions of each fish, the sort of meal it is suited to, how to prepare it and how to cook it. Because of the breadth of the subject, pretty much any fish you buy will be referenced here, with all the guidance on how to make the best of it. The book has made me much more advenutorous in the fishmongers, and I'm more likely now to buy something I'm not familiar with, knowing the book will give me all the information I shall need. And it's not just the basics either; there are also some very complex and skillful recipies in here.

All in all, an excellent book and pretty much all you need to get the best out of your fish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 September 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a comprehensive book which takes each individual fish and shellfish in turn with recipes for each. I confess some I had never heard of and haven't (yet) been able to source locally for, although we live near the coast it is the East coast and a lot of what Nathan cooks comes from the sea off the Cornish coast but do not be deterred.

It is well written, recipes are easy to follow although you may have just as much fun tracking down some of the ingredients if you live rurally and/or have to rely on supermarkets rather than independent stores. It would have been nice to see alternatives for some of the more exotic (less readily available) ingredients but the book is written about some 'commercial' recipes where, for the author, this is clearly less of a problem.

I understand this is his first book. I shall look out for the next.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 August 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a weighty and comprehensive guide to just about every species of fish and seafood you will see in the fishmongers. Each type of fish has a short chapter on average three different recipes using the fish, plus a guide to the various types of garnish/sauce/accompaniments. The dishes are all beautifully photographed and the recipes are clearly explained. The book also has a good reference section on basic recipes for sauces, flavoured butters, stocks, vegetables and accompaniments, together with a superb guide to basic preparation skills. If you enjoy preparing fish dishes, then this is a must-have buy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)