Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
61
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 May 2011
This is a wonderful book of mysteries. It's inspiring for writers - a whydunnit as well as a whodunnit. The children (Year 5/6) were transfixed. Please could publishers print more 'half stories?' Children love to use their imaginations, but are inexperienced because 'games' are computer bound and therefore have no element where they can 'pretend'. We are building a generation who have not used their imaginations at all. This book goes a little way to redressing the balance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2012
The pictures in this book can be used with or without the titles to inspire creative writing in Key Stage 2. The only reason it has recieved 4 rather than 5 stars is down to the size of the book - where these pictures are concerned - 'the bigger the better'. I have seen a poster pack available as an alternative, worth considering.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2012
Excellent literacy lesson prompts for KS2, and I would guess well into secondary age range. Intriguing visual ideas, strange captions to prompt responses. Portfolio edition also most useful for class display - I feel an extended visit to the A3 laminator coming on! Not sure of the mass market appeal beyond teachers though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2015
Stunning artwork and the 'mysteries' have got my class desperate to write what they think happened next! Can't ask more than that!
Limited text - about one sentence per picture - just to whet the appetite as to what the story behind the picture might be. So can be accessed on many levels, by adults and children alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2012
Great starting point for teaching writing!!!! Great visual aid! Beautiful pictures with a background story to accompany it. Good for classroom display too to go along with writing.

An all round good classroom resource to promote writing in primary schools
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2007
It's hard to say you have `read' this book because it's a collection of images that create a story in your mind. I guess u could call it a book but a book for the imagination. A book you could `read' for hours on end, letting your mind drift into stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
14 different stories that you can use as a springboard for your own stories, or use them all together to write one fully illustrated one. Drama, talk, thought and writing will all be inspired by this book-really beautiful illustrations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
These intriguing pictures are accompanied by a title and a line from a story ..... that has never been found. It's up to the reader to fill in the blanks. I thoroughly enjoyed playing the game and am using it with my students.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
The black and white of the illustrations just add to their imaginative world.
Quite beautiful.
All the better for no specific language - great for a child's spontaneous description.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2010
Another fantastic offering from Van Allsburg. Beautiful illustrations and a line or two of pure genius to prompt a whole host of stories. Great for nurturing an active imagination.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse