Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
9
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.91+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 April 2011
This compilation from the labour-of-love fanzine Pink Moon is well-considered and gives fascinating and fresh insights into the enigmatic Nick.
Its great advantage over the biographies by Patrick Humphries and Trevor Dann is that it has no particular agenda -- it presents first-person testimonies by the likes of John Martyn, Island Records employees, Robin Frederick and Drake's Cambridge contemporaries, his family, a psychiatrist, among many others and allows you to draw your own conclusions about what sort of a person Drake was, how much success meant to him, what kind of success he was interested in, his mental health and so on. Some of the essays and reminiscences are very touching. One of the many intriguing aspects of the book is that, on occasion, the same events are seen through different eyes.

As editor, Jason Creed rarely intrudes, when he does have something to say, he comes across as modest, concise and to the point. The book is also well proofread -- unlike some recent music books I can think of. Trouble has been taken. [If the book is ever updated, there are a couple of people whose thoughts on Nick Drake I'd like to hear - Bridget St John and Beverley Martyn, both of whom knew him well...and John Cale, who worked with Drake on Northern Sky]

Read this book and Ian Macdonald's brilliant analysis of Nick Drake's muse in his book The People's Music and that's the closest you'll get to unraveling and understanding something of the Nick Drake story.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2011
I love Nick Drake's music and wanted to read more. I'd heard the two biographies had mixed reputations, but chanced upon Jason Creed's compilation. It's clearly edited and divided into sections. It has details like early reviews, BBC files on Drake, articles on particular questions (from recording and imprint history to Drake's psychology). The guy doesn't seem to have any axe to grind, likes the subject enough but doesn't smother ND with his own theories or obessions.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2012
Good to see that Jason has developed the pink Moon "magazine" into a book... I got every copy and even made the odd contribution but still plenty in this to keep me interested and I have been a Nick Drske fan since the 70s... Covers a broad spectrum of info and interviews about Nick.. A good read for any Nick fan..
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2014
There are many articles in here that I knew of, but only read just now. A real treat is one account of Nick Drake in Morocco, heading back to Spain and France. We know of their time in Morocco; the meeting with the Rolling Stones for example, but this is something else. There are no agendas, no egos in here; at least none apparent. It was with an agenda that Trevor Dann wrote "Darker than the Deepest Sea", and i really didn't like his tone at all.

This is far better.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2012
This book is a must read for all nick drake fans and anyone who wants to be introduced to this troubled genius.I have also read all of the fanzines which were the inspiration for this book and this brings them all together beautifully.
jason creed is in my and many others opinion the most knowledgeable author on all things nick drake having interviewed over the years most of nicks closest friends and family

i would suggest this book before you look at any other because of the knowledge of the author and years of research put in via the pynk moon fanzine
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
If you've read the Dann & Humphries books, this gives another view on the story.
The fanzine was a labour of love, so it's good to see them collected together in one place.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2011
...intelligent, eclectic and enlightening. Jason knows and loves his subject, and it shows. All praise and respect. Shine on, mate.
(from Colin Betts, quoted in The Pink Moon Files and author of Frozenlight/Shininglight, his memoir and play about the 1960s and time spent travelling with Nick. It's available as a Kindle ebook)Frozenlight/Shininglight
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2015
Super book good value.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2016
Stripped down to just the man and his music ... My favorite Album of his and i love them all ... It,s intimate - personal - a quiet moment alone with nick - quite beautiful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)