Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more

Death and the Devil
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 10 February 2013
This book is incredible. It is beautifully written, and u would highly recommend it to almost anyone. It does get a little heavy in places, but is well worth it in the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 November 2012
When I read the "blurb" to this I thought it would be along the lines of Pillars of the Earth, Ken Follett. Wrong, it's sort of a thriller that I haven't finished reading yet, but it's OK - something to read that can be put down and picked up at will, not one that you can't put down until it's finished.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 January 2013
I wish I had bought this book in German, and read it in its original language,as I felt that a little was lost in translation; however I am not criticizing the translation, which is excellent, it's always the same when any work is translated. The storyline was excellent and I thoroughly enjoyed it; but it did lack the impetus of "Ken Follett's, Pillars of the Earth, or Ildefonso's Cathedral of the Sea". The characters were excellently portrayed and came to life, and they managed to draw one in to the story. This book is a great read and I would highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 15 August 2010
This is an excellent book which I came across quite by chance.

It is well-written, historically accurate and very well put together. As a keen historian, I find nothing more annoying than historical novels that ignore historical fact and reality. This is not one of those annoying books; instead, it is a very honest historical reconstruction of a troubled period in Cologne's history, and its part in the Christian history of the West - all tied up in a microcosm in the small murder mystery that means much more than just the death of one man.

Who are the mysterious strangers who meet and discuss death so casually? And their agent - is he the Devil? And what about the innocents who live in Cologne who get caught in something well beyond their understanding or their everyday lives. An amazing amount of detail and action takes place in Cologne in this wonderful novel over a few days; and the reader gets caught up wholeheartedly in the fast yet thorough pace of the story.

Well worth reading - definitely a winner.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 April 2012
It is 1260 and the new cathedral of Cologne is beginning to dominate the skyline of the city. Jacob the Fox, a petty thief, is the only witness to the murder of the cathedral's architect and has to run for his life. Finding shelter and support with Richmodis von Weiden, her dyer father and her uncle Jaspar, the dean of St Mary Magdalene's and a physician, they uncover a conspiracy involving one of the city's wealthiest and most respected families.

This was an unexpected find in a bookshop while on holiday last year, and as I was born near Cologne and spent my formative years there, I just had to get it. I wasn't familiar with the author's name before and, dare I say it, I would wager that this is his first foray into the historical murder mystery genre. As such, it doesn't work terribly well, as the identity of the assassin and the conspirators is known from the start, and even though the intended second assassination target isn't revealed until the last 100 pages, I had guessed it well before then. The interest for the reader lies in the well-constructed and -researched atmosphere of medieval Cologne, which also covers recent history including the Seventh Crusade, the then current political scene and the philosophical and religious schools of thought prevalent at that time. With Jacob on the run from the assassin, the characters still have time for lengthy philosophical discussions and history lessons, something that felt a bit incongruous to me but which I enjoyed nevertheless. The characters are for the most part well drawn, even though I could have done without the love story angle.

If you like intelligent historical murder mysteries with the emphasis on the history and not the mystery, then I suggest you give this one a go.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 June 2013
I could not put it down and I spent ages googling all the history. An excellent author who has put in a great deal of research.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2011
I can't decide whether giving this book three stars is too generous or not. Is the clunky prose, unconvincing dialogue and sometimes odd tone the fault of the author, or a too-literal translation? You'd have to be able to read it in the original German to know for sure.
It's a murder/horror story set in Cologne in 1260 as the new cathedral is going up. A mysterious group of wealthy citizens is planning some sort of coup which involves hiring an assassin who murders the cathedral's architect. This murder is witnessed by Jacob, a sneak thief living on his wits on the fringes of society, who is pursued through the city while he tries to expose the plot and stop more murders taking place.
Sounds exciting? Well, despite the complicated set-up it's basically an adventure yarn that, with a bit of editing, might make a good film in the Indiana Jones tradition - there's a lot of close shaves, fights, and hair's-breadth escapes from death.
Some of the book's faults are definitely down to the author, who obviously had ambitions to make it more than a mere adventure story. Be prepared for some very boring lectures on the politics and history of medieval Cologne, and some heavy-handed religious/philosphical discussions which don't bring much to the plot at all. I wish he'd spent more time on developing the characters and relationships, which are all rather two-dimensional - the romance in particular seems a bit of an afterthought. Despite the fact that the assassin is referred to as the devil, he didn't frighten me much. Most of the plotting 'patricians' are interchangeable, and they spend a lot of time talking about their enemy, the archbishop, who doesn't appear at all.
It's a convincing setting, he's obviously done his research, and if you like a historical murder mystery that's more of an action adventure then you might enjoy this, especially if you skip the boring bits. But just because there's a medieval cathedral being built, don't expect this to be anything like The Pillars of the Earth, which is a different sort of book and in a different league altogether. The horror element doesn't really work, and it's not a surprising plot - it's pretty obvious whom the assassin is going to try and kill at the end, and how. And I never really got to grips with exactly what the patrician conspiracy was all about, perhaps because it was buried in so much obtuse information.
So, lose the pretensions and edit out all the dull bits, make the reason for the coup clearer, create a more frightening villain, make all the main characters much more vivid, and this might make a good film. Mind you, if the author had done all that, and if the publishers had chosen a better translator, this would have made a much better book!
22 Comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 September 2009
I read this more than 10 years ago, when it was published in my hometown Cologne as part of the Cologne crime fiction series. Loved it. It's a murder mystery mixed with a little bit of history about the most famous Gothic cathedral in the world. If you liked the Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett, this is for you.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 December 2012
Just could not get on with this. Seemed to me like an uphill struggle and I was not up to the task. I read for pleasure only!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 December 2012
If you know the history before you start to read the story it may make more sense. Not bad but have read much better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here