Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 29 July 2017
I have now lived in France for nearly sixteen years thanks to reading Peter Mayle,'s lovely novels set in Provence.
This story The Vintage Caper is another of his highly readable tales. I enjoyed it and am now looking to read more of his later books.
They are always very easy to read with his flowing style that makes you want to keep going back for more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 April 2017
Beautifully crafted tale with enormous knowledge of it's background. Great fun too with a real sense of the old fashioned "romp"!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 May 2017
An amusing read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 27 December 2013
A lovely light hearted easy book to read. A good amusing story, and ideal to take away on your hols.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2017
Disappointed with the plot as there was no depth to the story. Tempted to finish early on i the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 September 2017
Great read, good fun even better if was in France with chilled glass of Rose!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 22 July 2017
A good, well written caper by Peter Mayle - clearly a wine buff who knows his grapes. The storyline centres around a wine heist - it's fun, witty and full of oneliners. An easy going, enjoyable and fun read. (The audio version is very enjoyable too).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 August 2010
" The Vintage Caper" is a delightful entertainment turned out with Peter Mayle's customary charm and competence (and some technical guidance from Anthony Barton, Hiberno-French scion of Chateau Leoville Barton), but no more than that.

Sam Levitt is a bon vivant poacher-turned-gamekeeper hired by a gorgeous insurance investigator to track down a massively valuable collection of vintage Bordeaux wines snatched from an obnoxious Hollywood lawyer's trophy cellar. He follows the trail to Marseilles and manages to solve his dilemma of having to recover the wine without landing the thieves - for whom he develops considerable affinity - in too much trouble in a creative way. Naturally, he encounters all sorts of charming French characters en route, at least one of them female, and finds time to partake of fine cuisine and superior wine and to get fitted for custom shirts at Charvet in Paris. Sam, despite being American, sounds in other words just like Peter Mayle.

The plotting is undemanding and the whole thing is infinitely forgettable once read. But if one is in the mood for an easy but reasonably intelligent and cheerful read, "The Vintage Caper" is just the thing.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 February 2013
I really enjoyed this book and forced myself to read it slowly to avoid getting to the end.
The characters were likeable and, as always, Peter Mayle's descriptions are spot on. I was there in France! A light read but no less enjoyable for that. As soon as I finished it I ordered his next book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 February 2015
(I found it unavoidable to do so, so please take on board - Spoiler Alert - this review covers at least the basics of the tale including its ending)

I finished this in a day, and scratched my head after reading the last word. It is bright and breezy all through and a little light; usually I have no problem with either, but this is so light there's bits missing!

The tale concerns the insurance investigation that follows the theft of a wine collection worth well over 2 million dollars US. The trouble is, the investigator, former crook Sam Levitt, simply has it all too easy. After a little trouble finding suspects, he then has a breakthrough, and then, very mystifyingly in my opinion, simply breezes through the tale. Everything he tries whether legal, dodgy or illegal, works. No one pops up to say 'Welcome to my home, Mr Levitt, I've been expecting you'; no terrible bad luck, no terrible mistakes, no supporting cast either killed or maimed - not that I want that as such, but its total absence to any degree (not even a broken leg or a sore head) is simply not good enough.

To make matters worse, there's no actual wrapping up at the end, especially with regard to whether we have one major player, or two or more across continents. Again - simply not good enough.

I have no idea on Mr Mayle's back catalogue, nor his future writing plans. Am I going to find out based upon this book? Nope.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse