Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
201
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 November 2008
I would definitely recommend this book to a novice astronomer. It explains in simple terms what you're looking at in the sky, and how to find the most famous star constellations. I discovered a lot of things that I had no idea existed. It even gives advice on what telescope to buy, which is a big help if you're looking to buy a telescope for the first time.

A plain and simple guide to the stars in the sky. A must buy!
0Comment| 136 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2009
I would highly recommend this book to any amateur astronomer. An excellent guide to the night sky.
You can rely on Sir Patric Moore for a good but simple explanation to the main stars and constellations of the starlit sky.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2009
I bought this book as I wanted a guide to get me started in simple astronomy before I commited to buying a telescope, but for me this book was just too basic.

It contains a good overview of how to start finding your way around the stars and constellations at different times of year, but contains little desciption of what they are. The explanations are easy to understand and very concise, but there is little in the book to inspire or excite. The chapter on buying a telescope is has some good tips, but is not enough for you to make a properly informed descision.

I appreciate this is one of the cheaper books on offer and is not meant to be a full guide to astronomy, but I was hoping for something to get me excited about taking up astronomy. If you are looking for the same, I recommend spending a little extra on a more descriptive book.
11 Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2010
I read this book within an hour, very informative, and easy to understand the relevant constellation, and planets. Explains the movements of the Moon, and names of Constellations,i.e. Casseopia, Ursa major, Ursa Minor, Triangulum. A must for first time buyers of a telescope and easy understanding of the night sky. Northern Hemishpere.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2010
As the title suggests this book is simplistic, but this does not affect the quality. An excellent introduction for those that haven't covered astronomy before, or have looked up on the occasional clear night and wondered what all the constellations are, it details some basic formations and what movements cause them.
Patrick Moore's writing as usual is easy to understand, a thoroughly good read and an excellent foundation for what is a fantastic hobby.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2009
Patrick Moore's "Guide to the Night Sky" is written in his no-nonsense easily understood prose. Simple enough not to put off the younger reader but with enough content to satisfy the more mature.
While the booklet won't break the bank and is primarily what its' title says: it includes descriptions of the Solar System, the Sun and Planets, Stars, stellar distances and even hints on buying a telescope.
A good "pocket" guide, with simple illustrations and photos, it can be read as a guide or used as a quick reference with sections covering constellations and the night sky for each of the seasons.
It's a handy companion to the Philip's Planisphere Philip's Planisphere: Northern 51.5 Degrees - British Isles, Northern Europe Northern USA and Canada (Philip's Astronomy)
The Philip's "Guide to Stars and Planets",Guide to Stars and Planets (Philip's Astronomy) also by Patrick Moore, fills in many of the gaps in the "Guide to the Night Sky"
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2010
It's a beginner's book, but I still find it quite useful. It clearly explains how to get around on the night sky based on the season. Maps are quite easy to understand while keeping the amount of information low with concise explanations. It also presents a lot of characteristics for the stars and planets.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2009
Sir Patrick offers this huge subject in a most easily digestible way. Well worth the low cost ..
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
I bought this as I am new to astronomy, and needed something to help me navigate the night sky. This book is ideal because it doesn't overwhelm the beginner with Messier or NGC objects; rather, it introduces constellations season by season, and shows how to get from one to another. This basic knowledge is an essential foundation upon which amateur astronomy is built. Once you know roughly where to look, THEN you can start looking for faint fuzzies, planets, etc. You could, of course, cheat, and go straight for a scope with a go-to mount, but then when your battery fails, you still won't know where to look. More satisfying is KNOWING where to look, and this book will create that first level of familiarity with the stars that will allow you to progress to a deeper knowledge. Plus, it's written by Patrick Moore - much better than a computer gizmo.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
I'm sure this is basically a very good book, but the Kindle version is unsatisfactory. The problem is that the text and illustrations are so small that you need a magnifying glass to see them. I found (by experiment) that you can tap on the text to make it larger, so this overcomes the miniature text problem, although I can't see why the normal method for Kindle text (with adjustable font size) was not used. However, the diagrams cannot be enlarged, which is a much more serious problem. Again I cannot understand why the normal Kindle method was not used on the diagrams, so that each one could be enlarged to fit the screen. This book only works on the Kindle Fire (or iPad) and cannot be used with the PC application where, with the larger screen, it may actually have been of some use. It is possible that the book may work better with a larger screen iPad but I don't have one of these. This is a very poor implementation of an illustrated book - I know it can be done properly as I have quite a collection of watercolour painting ebooks which are fine.
44 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)