Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Playlist - Acoustic Christmas Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 26 November 2013
Sadly, I should have read that it was a "pocket" atlas. Its maps are so small they're pretty well unreadable. So mainly my own fault.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2013
A lot has been compressed into a very small volume so much of the print is very difficult to read for older people. My reading ability for my age of 73 is very good but presently limited a little by my having cataracts in both eyes. One of my close friends, a lady of 67 found much of it impossible to read as the print is so small.

Your advertisment for this product would be better if it showed a typical page with the smallest print so that persons could then evaluate their ability to read it.

I was lookng for a pocket Atlas to replace my then current one - which was also beter in that it had descriptions of countries and photographs rather than simply to have a flag and population details.

For the price this is a good product but I would advise older persons to check their ability to read the fine print before making a purchase - Amazon should in fairness to its customers give them this advice.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 February 2016
Two more of my reviews for this title have been transferred-in from other pages by Amazon which is most annoying!

The map of the world continues to evolve as new countries emerge. This is especially so with modern Europe in the years since the demise of the Soviet Union and former Yugoslavia. As all travellers and students of geography will know, up-to-date information about any country’s boundaries and borders is vital. How else might one visit, say, Dubrovnik, without knowing that that city is now in Croatia and not within the boundaries of a former country which no longer exists.

Whilst all households should possess at least one Atlas of the World, the problems associated with those much larger tomes are generally a price which is often prohibitive and, secondly, there does tend to be no space for such an outsize product on the family bookshelf. Of course, the bigger the atlas, the easier it is to see and appreciate whatever information may be contained on the various maps but in this particular product we find an optimum size which suits all requirements.

Commencing with a 47 page gazetteer of nations in alphabetic order - complete with national flag, there are 96 pages of relief maps by continent, region and country, political maps, 32 pages devoted to world geography and 35,000 place names in an index which also includes local spellings. In short, this product is just about as complete as one might hope to find. As such, it also provides all the background and general information one might require when contemplating a visit or, perhaps in support of one’s studies. It will also appeal to those who simply want to know the answer to some vexatious question.

NM
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 February 2015
Prompt delivery. Excellent item.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 February 2015
going in time and good for me.thank's
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2015
I bought this pocket atlas for our son who lost his other one. He was very happy to have it replaced.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 August 2011
The map of the world continues to evolve as new countries emerge. This is especially so with modern Europe in the years since the demise of the Soviet Union and former Yugoslavia. As all travellers and students of geography will know, up-to-date information about any country's boundaries and borders is vital. How else might one visit, say, Dubrovnik, without knowing that that city is now in Croatia and not within the boundaries of a former country which no longer exists.

Whilst all households should possess at least one Atlas of the World, the problems associated with those much larger tomes are generally a price which is often prohibitive and, secondly, there does tend to be no space for such an outsize product on the family bookshelf. Of course, the bigger the atlas, the easier it is to see and appreciate whatever information may be contained on the various maps but in this particular product we find an optimum size which suits all requirements.

Commencing with a 47 page gazetteer of nations in alphabetic order - complete with national flag, there are 96 pages of relief maps by continent, region and country, political maps, 32 pages devoted to world geography and 35,000 place names in an index which also includes local spellings. In short, this product is just about as complete as one might hope to find. As such, it also provides all the background and general information one might require when contemplating a visit or, perhaps in support of one's studies. It will also appeal to those who simply want to know the answer to some vexatious question.

NM
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 15 April 2016
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This paper-back novel sized atlas is extraordinarily detailed for its size. It opens flat if you force it to, which means that you will eventually break the spine if you want to look for places which are on the inside margins on a lot of different places.

I spent a couple of happy hours tracking down places in China. It does require careful looking, because the text is absolutely tiny and at the limit of legibility for people even with very good sight. There's a gazetteer in the back to find all the places.

Clearly this is a compromise of convenience in carrying with detail. If you want a 'proper' atlas, this isn't it. If you do have a big atlas, or use mapping software, this is a convenient way to use maps when you are out and about.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 March 2016
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I like Map books, always have so was really pleased to be able to look through this pocket sized world altas.
It is really good.
Packed with colour maps and useful information. The book is a soft cover and as it says pocket sized so will pop into a bag easy.
The actual maps come across as very clear, with the main population centres and even air traffic routes. I like the brief overview of themain countries plus the respective flags and general information. Great. A super book to look through while waiting to travel!
Good price as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 September 2014
As far as Atlases go this is very good. Recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here