Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
34
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 June 2017
love this story line well written and kept you guessing, as well as who was involved in which crime. Daisy involved in one story line and her husband on the other one. love these books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2017
Brilliant book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2017
poignant and also good picture of saffron walden and school as well as the general daisy and family background.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2017
Very enjoyable read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is the first Daisy Dalrymple book that I have read, and needless to say, I will be reading more. I get the impresion that Daisy was single at the beginning of the series, but here she is married with twins, and also the responsibility of a stepdaughter. Although this is a Dalrymple mystery, the majority of the story is in fact about her husband, DCI Alan Fletcher, and his investigations.

In Epping Forset three shallow graves are found in close proximity, and it turns out that the three bodies have all died within the past year. Alan and his team from Scotland Yard are called in to take over the case from the Essex Constabulary, much to the annoyance of Gant, who has started the investigation. Following the team as they try to identify the bodies, and find any connections seems a dauntless task, but the police press on anyway. At the time, Daisy with her friends, are visiting their daughters at boarding school, for the Sports Day. When the girls find a the dead body of a teacher in a maze, Gant is called in to investigate, and holds a grudge against Daisy, because of her husband.

Could this death be connected to the other three, or is this another crime altogether? Daisy starts to look into the murder, and finds that she has to make some tough decisions. Her husband not knowing that she is involved with anything is chasing clues around the country.

All in all this is a good tale that holds your attention, and brings home the horrors of war, espcially the First World War, and the terrible conditions of the trenches, also the hate that bullies cause to their victims.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2011
As a huge fan of the "Daisy Dalrymple" series I was disappointed with the motive in this book, probably because I have seen it used several times in recent years. However, I also found it frustrating that a clue early in the book, which telegraphed the motive was not "solved" till late in the book. Maybe the author was being clever in that the fact may not have been generally known at the time the book was set but we readers live in the present and it was frustrating.

Having said that, it did not detract from enjoying another murderous outing with Daisy and if, like me, you are a fan of the series, you will enjoy this one.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
First, a quick introduction for the benefit of those who haven't read any of these books. Daisy Fletcher nee Dalrymple is a freelance writer and amateur sleuth of aristocratic birth. Married (for some of the books) to a high ranking Scotland Yard detective she meets in the first novel, she often meddles in her husband's cases. She is an endearing character, and it's Carola Dunn's gift for characterisation as well as her ingenious settings that make these books remarkable, since the plots are nothing to write home about.

This particular book is a very good one. Not for the first time, Daisy's husband's work interferes with his personal life, and as such Daisy attends her stepdaughter's sportsday without him. While Alec investigates multiple murders in Epping Forest, Daisy is at the other end of the county and, surprise surprise, stumbles upon yet another body. Is there a connection between the two cases, or is the author teasing us?

The action moves backwards and forwards between the two locations and some of my favourite characters return. We have Daisy's friend Sakari with her mischievous humour. Her daughter Deva, together with Daisy's stepdaughter Belinda and their friend Lizzie, always add extra interest when they appear. As with all of these books, the cover is vivid and attractive. While we know we shouldn't judge books by their covers, I think the cover is part of the package in this instance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2012
This book gives the leading role to Daisy's husband Alec ably supported by his police team. This is a good move! Alec is very very good at his job and very dedicated to his team which makes for interesting insights into police working methods of the time. Alec's a smashing husband and father too and the details of home life in the 1920's add a nice touch to the story.

Daisy has more of a background role this time around but still manages to be involved, her suggestions and ideas are of course helpful to the outcome of the case.

I have read all the Daisy Dalrymple books so far with "Gone West" the next on my list. I hope that will not be the final Daisy and Alec story! You can pick up any book in the series to start with and I recommend "Rattle His Bones", "The Murdered Muckraker or "Die Laughing" which are my particular favourites.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2011
As an ardent fan of Daisy Dalrymple and a keen student of WW1 I eagerly awaited this book with it's very tempting title. However, I have to admit to being somewhat disappointed with it. It's a good enough read but not up to the standard of some of the others in the series. I felt that it was all a bit rushed at the end as though the author couldn't quite work out the best solution. I was also a bit bemused by the mention of one of the characters being in the Local Defence Volunteers during WW1. This organisation was set up at the start of WW2. I'm ready to be corrected but think that I am right in saying this. Perhaps I placed too much hope in this title. It won't stop me reading the others though!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2011
This novel cleverly included the sadness of war, in a very sensitive manner. The characters are well developed, so one can 'visualise' them interacting as the story evolves. It is strange to read a book where the main character (Daisy) is not actually involved in the murder investigation first hand - but still is able to bring the story to an unexpected end. Recommended read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse