Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
45
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 March 2014
Carola Dunn is on top form in this entertaining romp in the National History Museum, with eccentric characters and a plot that moves along at a gripping speed. Alec and Daisy continue to develop their relationship, Daisy tries hard to do her duty by Alec while maintaining her own independent character and wishes. She is a very attractive heroine, full of life, warm and loving and - for a woman of her time - enterprising and self-reliant. She's really the Honourable Daisy Dalrymple, an impoverished noblewoman who can't inherit her father's title because she is female and has to watch the family property go to a cousin. She is pragmatic about this and prefers to earn her own living rather than being kept by her cousin in idle luxury. Alec, her social inferior, is a senior policeman at a relatively young age and his strength and intelligence, together with his general sexiness, make him a suitable marriage prospect. Together (reluctantly, on his part) they solve the mystery and he is forced to acknowledge her contribution to this.
This one of my favourite Daisy Dalrymple books, where Carola Dunn's inventiveness and wicked sense of humour are given full rein.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2017
Thanks for a great read, at a great price. Devoured it quickly. Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2016
Item arrived safe and sound in excellent condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2017
Enjoyed the whole series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2017
I am enjoyng seeing how the relationship develops with Daisy and Alec
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2010
If you like the genre you'll enjoy this one. The period detail is the hook for Daisy Dalrymple fans so the background squabbling at one of our great institutions adds to the joy. You can hear the echoes down the corridors of the past. Tophole.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Daisy Dalrymple is researching some articles about the Natural History Museum when. She is in the wrong place at the wrong time when one of the curators is murdered. Alec Fletcher - Daisy's fiancé - is not pleased that she has yet again got herself involved in a murder case but his colleague, Sergeant Tring, is more forgiving. As ever Daisy vows not to go off investigating for herself but naturally her curiosity gets the better of her and she starts asking questions under cover of her legitimate research.

The professional rivalries of the various curators are well done with the result that almost all of them are suspects. There is also a Grand Duke from a central European country which has been overrun by foreign powers who feels he is entitled to the return of a magnificent ruby which is on display in the museum. One of his ancestors gave it to Queen Victoria and now he needs the money he wants it back. As a result he visits the museum almost every day just to stare at the exhibit.

I thought this book was well written and I like Daisy and her friend Lucy as well as Alec, her fiancé and Belinda, her future stepdaughter. The period detail is good too as is the background of the Natural History Museum. If you have not tried this series before this might be a good one with which to start.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2011
Once again the Honorable Daisy Dalrymple gets involved in murder most foul and in this story the wonderful Natural History Museum provides a stunning background.

I love the Daisy stories, they are very well written and great for a relaxed afternoon read with a nice cup of tea and a piece of cake. "Rattle His Bones" is a particular favourite of mine being set in the NHM which is a jewel of a background to the story.

Daisy and Alec, her Scotland Yard "beau" solve the murder (of course!) with lots of incidents on the way. Familiar characters continue to give the story depth and they provide a good solid backdrop to the main action.

These are not classic crime stories by any means but they are good quality stories and a most enjoyable way to spend an afternoon. Constable and Robinson have almost produced the full Daisy series with brilliant cover illustrations and it can surely only be a matter of time before Daisy appears on TV; I would love to see the books on screen.

So: put the kettle on, cut a slice of cake and escape with Daisy, you won't regret the journey!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 April 2014
Daisy is back in another adventure and you know that without a doubt she is going to stumble on some bones and be launched into some sort of murder investigations.

Trouble is the bones are a lot older than she could ever imagine as they have come crashing down in the Natural History Museum whilst she is there with her nephew and her soon to be step daughter. But it is not the bones that are the problem but the curator who has crashed into them.

Immediately Daisy begins thinking - why would anyone want to kill an expert? - what could possibly be the motive? And what on earth is her fiancé Inspector Alec Fletcher going to say, about being the first person on the scene?

Daisy promises she will not doing any of her own investigating, but she does need to return to the museum to carry on researching her article, so some exchanging of information is going to be inevitable.

The possible suspects are numerous, from experts in minerals to fossils and everything in between. Even a regular visitor to the museum to reclaim back a jewel is a possible suspect.

Of course as the book progresses you know that between Daisy and her not interfering and Alec and his faithful Sergeant Tring alongside, the perpetrator is going to be caught, the fun is how we get there with them as readers.

I actually found this book boring, that is because of the topic of fossils and the like. It is not a subject I have ever been particularly enamoured with and this made reading some bits of the book quite boring. However, what kept me reading was the fact that all the regular characters feature and that maybe Alec might be a step closer to marrying Daisy and stop her stumbling on these bodies. Then again.........
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2015
I found Daisy Dalrymple books after buying 12 of them from a book club, sorry Amazon. I fell for them. They might be so called crime books, but they are light hearted and just what I needed. I've read so many other crime books, these were light relief from the gruesome ones. Thoroughly recommend the series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse