Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Arcade Fire Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
38
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 February 2011
I loved the period the book is set in and the fact there are several stories going on within the actual story keeps you hooked and searching for more. For Me it is a fantastic read and great to have a Feminine Heroine who is witty and rebellious. Yet again M C Beaton has come up trumps!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2012
Brought this for my Kindle. I have several of the suthor's books and whilst they are not intellectually challenging they are fun to read. Especially suited to my commute to and from work. I love the way that Beaton can just keep churning out these stories and still make them enjoyable to read. I read her previous ones about Agatha Raisin and Hamish and the main characters in these stories, Lady Rose and her campanion, Daisy, Harry and his manservent are equally enjoyable to get to know, stories far fetched but some of them are really quite amusing. This one wasn't as good as the first or third one but they are perfect for easy reading, holidays or commute
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 March 2011
As have said about the other books in this series. All very enjoyable with lovely characters and a good plot.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
I have now read all four books in the Edwardian Murder Mystery series. This series were written some time ago & like all of M C Beaton’s books they are easy reading probably what would be called holiday reading or a good travelling companion. If you liked the books written by Georgette Heyer these should appeal even though Georgette Heyer’s books were set in the Regency period & these are set in the Edwardian period.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2011
Third in the series although all the books stand alone so you don't have to have read the previous novels to enjoy this book. Having read it though you probably would want to read the others. Good attention to period detail without getting too bogged down by it so you don't lose anything of the plot. Another good read from the pen of M C Beaton.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I really enjoy all of MC Beaton's books. Having gone through all the Hamish Macbeth (on Audible as well!) and Agatha Raisin I decided to start on her Regency and Edwardian novels. Yes, there are quite a few typos but nothing to detract from the storyline. I like a bit of escapism and these books fit the bill.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
Having read the first book of the series, I decided to buy this one too. Delightful to escape into the past for a while. Quite a romance blossoming, very clever, as I would never usually buy a romance type book. If you have read the Agath Raisin books, you should enjoy these follies too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
I enjoyed this book and read it very quickly. It follows on from the other books in the series and has a fitting ending. An easy reading enjoyable book. It did take a long time to arrive after being ordered but i was happy enough with it in the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2011
As with all MC Beaton books, this is a light-hearted but entertaining read. The plot has enough twists to keep your interest and the characters charming and likeable. A perfect book for an afternoon lazing in the sun or on holiday.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2014
How does M.C. Beaton keep up the writing of so many fluffy stories which nevertheless give amusement and intrigue? As an author to dip into every time the troubles of life overwhelm she is essential to chill out with.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse