Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Alice Cooper Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 February 2013
Very interesting to see how the younger times of a potential emperor develop. Having read Simon Scarrows early books it was easy to follow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2013
Brilliant had me hooked from the first to last page.soon as this is done I'm off to download compassion 2.get this book you won't regret it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2015
So wrapped up in Vespasian's adventure was I that I didn't even realise the book was coming to an end! Bring on the next one!! Excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2015
An excellent read. An easier read than some of the books about ancient Rome, but none the less full of detail. Just ordered book 2.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2017
Interesting and gripping from the off. Pacy and believable all the way through,as an historical novel should be, very enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2016
Great story based on Roman Emperor Vespasian. Highly recommended for lovers of historical fiction. Really enjoyed this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
Vespasian always struck me as one of the last sane Roman emperors. Fabbri knows how to make him and his times come to life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
bit slow to start with but once you got into it a good read. plot bit obvious bit a few twist and tales to make up for it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
Great read . Packed with action and suspense. Roman politicts were never simple and people lived their lives in fear.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2012
A very good read this the author without a doubt has a sincere love of the historical genre and this stood out all through.
The characters were agreeable and I found the relationship between Vespasian and Magnus entertaining and unforgettable.
Clearly this story weaver knows his facts and wove them into a believable story, with a whole horde of books out there with the Roman army in action, a story weaver has to do something distinct to get their stories noticed, what Robert Fabbri has done in this story is placing one of the most fascinating of the Roman Emperors who emerged to this lofty rank about AD 68.
Robert Fabbri has written a story of style, well plotted with superb characters, with fiction and non-fiction brought together well.
So now we have probably a fresh challenger to Simon Scarrow, Ben Kane, Conn Iggulden, Douglas Jackson and the like competing for the prime position of this genre.
In conclusion I can truly say if you're a enthusiast of Roman historical novels then this is an unquestionable must read.
Buy it, you won't be disappointed!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse