Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

2.6 out of 5 stars
550
2.6 out of 5 stars
The Slap
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.44+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 3 March 2015
a masterpiece ,you simply must read this book, well written and cleverly touches on lots of modern life issues, i enjoyed the characters in the book and how they all have different opinions about the "slap" yet all have giant shortcomings in their own lives, i also appreciated how real this is, it could happen at just about any garden party in any country in the world,who's side are you on?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2017
I flew through this book, but having not been to Australia I found the racism within the pages pretty shocking. Is Australia as racist a country as this book would portray? Aside from that the book is well written and thought-provoking, and I enjoyed it. Unpleasant in places, but interesting enough to hold my attention to the very last page.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
It was a very interesting read, told by many different characters, but you have to concentrate because of the switches and the amount of detail the author goes into. Enjoyable, especially if you have time on your hands.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2017
Great book from a great antipodean author
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2017
most interesting story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
One of those books you wonder why you are reading it, but find you continue to read it and get captivated with the characters, so much you watch the programe, I still believe imagination is more inventive, but yes I would recommend for a different sort of reading. Just crazing situations that get out of hand.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2016
Ok but it got a bit irritating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2011
I thought the premise of the book looked interesting, but sadly it was poorly written. It could have been so much better. There were some good points, and Tsolkas captures the sexism and racism which, sadly, seems to be endemic in Australian society. However, the characters weren't particularly believable, the sex scenes were simply gratuitous (and no, I'm not prudish, I have no problem with sex scenes when they form an integral and essential part of the plot, but these just seemed to be chucked in for no reason), and the story jumped aorund too much.

I wouldn't particularly recommend this book to anyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Barracuda
£12.99
Loaded
£8.99
Dead Europe
£6.99

Need customer service? Click here