Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 17 December 2008
I can only assume that the above "reviewers" work for, or are related to, The Clash or the publishers.

This is a gratuitous, barely-concealed barrel-scraping effort which further advances the band's revisionism, not least about their backgrounds. The input and creativity of such figures as Caroline Coon, Derek Boshier and Alex Michon is mentioned in the most ungenerous terms while others such as Sebastian Conran don't even get a look in. Poor old Terry Chimes receives similar treatment and the three post-Jones years are condensed into a page which tries to gussy up embarassing escapades such as the busking tour and the truly dreadful Cut The Crap.

All the photographs and information have been published elsewhere apart from a selection of pretty poor handbills and posters which show that band's grip on graphics and visual identity was never up to that of their peers.

The captions appear to have been written by someone working on an entirely different project (and thinks there was a publication called the New Music Express) and the text is at times incomprehensible as they twist and turn in self-justification:

"The Clash was the first long-playing record to be released by a British punk band of real note. Although two months earlier The Damned had released Damned Damned Damned on the independent Stiff label, The Clash was different, and not just because it was released via a major record label."


The only real gem is overlooked. A pic of an early line-up has a geezer in it who is clearly not Keith Levene but billed as such, with a caption which goes into his later exploits in PiL etc. Who is that mystery man in the Jackson "Pollack" (sic) shirt on p64?
55 Comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 3 January 2018
John-Joe Crosby was the hurler from Kerry and then the coach of Kerry’s hurling team. He was told of more violence on the fields to attract more viewers via gate sales and media subscriptions. John-Joe met Kitty to get information about corruption in the sport.

Jack Curran was like the famous Australian media tycoon, Kerry Packer, who turned cricket into the professional sport. He moved the home of hurling from Croke Park to Arena 21 in violation of Gaelic Athletic Association’s rules.

I do not follow hurling and other Gaelic sports as I do not understand the rules of these games. However, John-Joe entered the dangerous and thrilling world of crimes such as corruption, bribes, kidnappings and murders.

It becomes exciting during the cliffhanging final. There are a few mistakes such as the incorrect Roman numerical symbols. For example, Pope John Paul XII (the twelfth) visited Ireland in 1982. It should be II (second) as X means dec (ten in Latin).

Caesar 13

Breakaway Reviewers received a copy of the book to review
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 April 2010
I hate giving anything clash anything but five stars...but this is a bit of a disappointment.
If you have the big version of this... The "Clash": Strummer, Jones, Simonon, Headon then this small paperback version is a bit of a let down. This version only has a few of the many pictures and illustrations found in the full size version...so this is mainly the text/quotes/tour dates/discography that appeared in the large format.
As with big book..it goes in chronological order from '76 to '83
So I guess you keep the big pink book on the coffee table...and this one in your bag to read through....maybe I'm being unkind...I guess this is much easier to
take around with you...and it was published for that reason... so if I could do three and a half stars I would.
Considering you can pick up the hardback version for nearly the same price in some places..it might pay to shop around

But hell..it's the clash...it's bright pink and you can read it on the bus or train without looking like Bernard Cribbins as guest reader on Jackanory.

I hope the small version of the Bob Gruen book doesn't disappoint...hell that's all photos!!!!!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 September 2016
So I love The Clash, and when I heard about this book I knew it was a must have, and it is, I'm not sure what it feels like it's missing but I guess I just wanted to put them under a microscope so it's my bad, hell of a book, full of clash antics, history, attitude, charm, the works...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 September 2008
The second you see the dayglo pink cover..you know you are in for something a bit special. This is about the same size as the "Punk" hardback that came out a few years ago. In some ways layout is similar..but it's 100% clash!
For the photospotters...there are some well known pictures gathered here...but a lot of cracking b/w and colour shots I've never seen before.There are also record sleeves and posters, singles adverts lovingly reproduced. I haven't had time to read all the way through yet..but I'm like a kid on Christmas day with this!
There are also some pages from the first Clash Songbooks- biogs and the like.
The book works through in chronological order 1976 -1983 with a mix of pictures text, tour dates, albums etc...Joe,Mick, Paul and Topper all have their say..
It's the "Must Have Toy...(well book) for Christmas" as my son keeps reminding me..how am I expected to wait two months!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2017
Classic collection from great band. Loved by recipient of this gift.
Highly recommend, fast delivery and great price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2016
The Clash - The Clash hardback book - You must own this book if you are a fan of the Clash. Some great photo's.
5 star every day of the week.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2018
great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2015
After all this time there is still more to find out about one of the most astonishing cultural events. The Clash hasn't died and it never will.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 March 2013
My husband loved reading this book and it has some good photography shots of the band in there too! Really pleased with it and he's just finished reading it after buying it for him for Christmas!:) Would definitely recommend this book to all die hard Clash fans!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)