Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
26
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 May 2012
Walking D-Day' by Paul Reed is a concise, comprehensive and informative guide to the D-Day battleground. It is an invaluable volume for anyone making a pilgrimage to Normandy, identifying all significant places of interest with useful maps. This portable book contains many illustrations so that the visitor walking the footsteps of those that fought on D-Day can get a feel for what these courageous men experienced and reconcile the events of 6th June 1944 with the sites that are detailed in the book. Together with detailed narrative which features firsthand accounts from the participants and documents from the National Archives Paul Reed brings the story of this significant date in WW2 history alive. I highly recommend this great book.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
Used for background on D Day site visits, this serves as an excellent book, however, it could do with an update. The maps are very basic, route descriptions can be vague and unclear (grid refs would be very useful, for example, and are absent). More disappointingly, the physical production quality is fairly poor, I have pages dropping away from the binding quite heavily, with no real heavy usage to justify this, and this began almost as soon as I received the book. Used as a support for further map and route research and cross referenced with other D Day sources (which I would have done anyhow), it's the best I could find to help plan a great week in Normandy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
We bought this as we wanted an up to date book covering walks in Normandy. We visit regularly and know the landing beaches area well. The author clearly knows his subject and we felt the text added to our knowledge.

However, if you are planning to do the walks you need to know that they tend to be long several are 10 or 12 miles. Also the map for each walk is not easy to follow (very difficult on the Kindle, a little better in the paper version). An indication of where you are meant to go would help, such as a thicker line for the route. Also, on the map, the points of interest are numbered, but these numbers are not included in the text. Some of the directions are vague or misleading, e.g. 'walk down the beach for about a kilometre until you come to a path through the dunes'. In reality the path is right next to the first house you encounter, so why not say that? On another occasion it said to take a minor road, when it meant a footpath. Fortunately we always take a walking map, so we could work out where we were meant to be.

If you buy the Kindle version, you need to become adept at using bookmarks to navigate your way around. If you bookmark the page with the map on and also the one at the start of the walk, then you can switch between them as needed, but it's still quite a fiddle. We saw the paper version of this book on the ferry and it probably would be a bit easier to use - but at over twice the price and it's quite heavy for a long walk.

So, if they could improve the maps and Kindle usability this would be a very good guide. As it currently is, it's frustrating.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
Too many people rush through Normandy, pulling up at monuments to snap photos and looking at battlefields only as they drive past at 70 mph. This book encourages you to slow down and examine the battlefields in more detail. The walks detailed inside take in both the well known sites and those seldom found by tourists. With this book in hand, the hedgerows, cornfields, walled farms, bridges and crossroads will come alive for you as you contemplate the actions that took place in the summer of 44. The armchair reader too will enjoy the text - the author has walked and toured these battlefields personally and his years of experience and insight shine forth in the text.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2012
A must for anyone visiting the battlefields of Normandy. Myself a veteran of Normandy and have been many times with the auther who is a militery historian. One can miss many things by trying to "do it oneself" as I have done in the past. Ones memory of something that happened some 68 years ago can be vague. Good reading anyway from an expert.
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2014
The book is complete and very useful for anyone visiting the Normandy D-Day locations, but two major faults, barely acceptable nowadays: poor black and white photographs, and we are in fact talking about a tourist guide, and too schematical and little detailed maps, which sometimes are hard to follow. The use of tools such as google maps or aerial pictures would be a great plus for a generally quite good book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
Bought this for my husband who is travelling to Normandy in June for 70th ceremonies . He is more than pleased with it . He already has a collection of good WW2 books & has studied the period for some years . He says it enables you to follow the campaigns you have read about & understand the overall strategy . The historical text is excellent & it has lots of previously unseen photographs . There are maps but he recommends supplementing these with the available BIGOT maps from the period . He is really looking forward to doing some of the walks .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2017
With regard to the historical descriptions of the battles, this book is first class and incredibly well researched. As a walking guide it leaves something to be desired. The sketch maps are poor, they're black and white and the routes are also done in black, Trying to work out if a road/track is on the walking route is difficult. The written instructions regarding turn in to A street, walk x m, turn right into B street etc. are good and work really well with Google maps. There has however been a lot of development recently and some descriptions are out of date, however, a little common sense when confronted with a brand new housing estate is all that is required. Topo maps are useful but not absolutely essential, Google maps work better in built up areas. It would be useful if the guide told you the topo map numbers you need rather than having to try and guess them from the IGN website. The maps you need are:
Walks 1-6 1612 OT "Caen"
Walks 7-8. 1512 OT "Bayeux"
Walks 9-10. 1412 OT "Pointe du Hoc"
Walks 11-12. 1311 OT "Valognes"

Whilst no ill reflection of the book, I found the walking not the best as once out of towns many of the walks are on public roads without footpaths/sidewalks, however, this is what you get in this region of France.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
I have traveled to Normandy many times before and thought I had visited it all, but this time I took this book with me and along with my usual companions we took some of the suggested walks. And I must say we enjoyed the walks immensely and found places of interest we had not found before and never would have by staying in the car. I would recommend this book to anyone who is visiting the area for the first time and indeed on a repeat visit, I am not a seasoned walker but found the walks very easy going and it was great to get close the area which is very beautiful and a great place visit even if you are not that interested in the war.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
This was a birthday present for my husband who is planning to visit the area next year; he loved it. Read it from cover to cover and is starting it over straight away; very informative.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)