Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
15
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 March 2017
This book is well worth the money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2012
This is a good account of the Tiger tanks used in Normandy. There are some good pictures of many tanks involved in the actions, both before and after the battles. Each tiger used has a mention, and history of how it ended up. It is not a technical development history. But this is not what I was after. If you are interested in the Normandy Campaign, this is a good history of the tiger's involved, not a history of the campaign. I found it a good companion to campaign history'.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
sorry I cant agree with the reviewer who gave it 1 star, yes some of the photos are a bit rough but what do you expect after nearly 70 years plus they probably were not very good to start with.
this is an excellent book and rates as highly as his other 2 books. tigers in combat vol1 and 2. all the information concerning the schwere tiger company's in Normandy is there, tank identification numbers, unit number, what action each tank participated in if any,
and what happened to every tiger in Normandy.
throughout the book there are first hand accounts from survivors of both sides and in some instances German and allied views of the same battle.
the account of what happened to Michael whittmans tiger makes very interesting reading as does Schneider's view about whittmanns award of the knights cross for his actions against the British.
I must say I can see his point.
this is a book I should have bought some time ago, especially as I own the two volumes of tigers in combat.
if you are interested tigers and what happened in Normandy leading up to the collapse at falaise, then buy it, if you just want to know what it was like in a German tank in Normandy, then buy it.
ignore the above and just buy this book you wont be disappointed.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2014
I bought this on a whim more or less, wanting to bulk up my order with something for me as well as the other stuff for other people. Much to my surprise, it's very readable, has a lot of interesting incidents, and has some shots of the places as they are today. There's background stories to some very famous pictures in here. The one thing that stood out for me, was the way in which the Tiger tank, time after time, knocked the hell out of the Allies armour. I'd listened to my father telling me stories of the "legendary" Tigers encountered by the troops in France, and the way the mere mention of the word word almost strike fear into the hearts of Allied troops and tankmen alike. Now I'm beginning to understand why ....
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2016
Some good background information on the units and locations, some very atmospheric images although be warned the quality of many wartime 'snaps' is as you would expect from nearly 70 year old B&W images. Also, Herr Schneider is a modern German Army officer, so you can perhaps forgive the occasional 'weren't we great' tone that comes through in areas (Speaking as a former Brit officer!!). It is a very factual analysis, interspersed with some personal accounts - so if you want to know on what date and where a particular action took place great, but if you want a flowing prose then perhaps this is not the book for you. On balance, I enjoyed it, would recommend it for the price and it will be a useful addition to my collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2016
I was put off at first by a review which said the photos were poor quality, however I went ahead and bought the book and found the photos were fine i have several books with much poorer quality photos than this. overall a fine book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
A gripping and highly readable account of battles in Normandy, 1944, involving the famous Tiger tank. A "must read" for the military history fan.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
For those in the interested in military history especially armoured warfare this is good definitive account of the tiger in action
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
Good alternative view of tank warfare in Normandy during the fighting
Projects the German view without moralizing . Well worth the reader
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2016
What is otherwise a great book is let down by the poor quality of the photographs. I have many books on the fighting in Normandy, and many of the photographs featured in this book appear in other books. The only difference is that in other books, the quality of the reproduction of the same photos is far better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse