Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

A. Dramatic story of men of the Merchant Navy who went to sea in anything that floated to bring materials and food back to our Island. Men is Steel
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2015
An easily read book about "The 4th Service" during the Second World War, told with a series of detailed individual events against an abbreviated World situation appraisal. I was a merchant seaman for a time and worked with an old "greaser" who'd been torpedoed out of three ships. These stories could be his. A very enjoyable read, humbling and thought provoking, especially in the last chapter. Mr. (Capt.?) Edwards, I look forward to reading more of you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2016
Having a father in the merchant navy in ww2 whose ship was lost with all hands in 1942 I could appreciate the information contained in this book.
I found a lot of new information which helped me to understand what happened. I also understand much more about what the merchant navy went through.
I found the book very easy to read and it certainly held my attention.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
Stories of courage and tragedy about British merchant ships in WW2. The death rate amongst British merchant seamen in WW2 (17%) was higher than the Royal Navy or the RAF (both around 9%). The book has 21 short chapters, usually following a particular merchant ship until it was attacked, with a description of the fate of the crew, and the careers of the attacking vessel and captain. These vignettes cover a range of circumstances: ships sailing in convoy or independently; in different oceans; and attacks by submarines, surface ships or aircraft. Mostly they involve ships being torpedoed and sunk by submarines. One notable chapter describes two different actions where a lone merchant ship successfully fought off with gunfire an Italian submarine attacking on the surface.

The author is a professional merchant captain who began his career at the end of WW2. His feeling for the profession is evident. The book is easy to read. Its value is in highlighting the unheralded work-a-day courage of merchant seamen. Once attacked survival was a lottery. Most poignant are the stories of men lost without trace. The book is otherwise disappointing. The vignettes are superficial and repetitive, providing little insight in the character, motivations and circumstances of the officers and men of the merchant service. There is a brief overview but limited analysis or context to deepen the reader's understanding.

For those seeking greater depth and insight into the great trials, and highs and lows of conduct in the merchant service see Night of the U-boats,Nightmare Convoy: The Story of the Lost Wrens or PQ17 Convoy to Hell - the survivors' Story - in-depth accounts of individual Atlantic, Gibraltar and Arctic convoys respectively, with a strong focus on the merchant ships and written by a convoy veteran; Convoy: The Greatest U-boat Battle of the War (Cassell Military Paperbacks) - an excellent account also with a strong focus on the merchant ships; Convoy Commodore the insightful memoir of a commodore, the officer who commanded the merchant ships; The Rescue Ships, the heroic history of the merchant ships tasked to rescue survivors; or The Real Cruel Sea, a very thoroughly researched and comprehensive although dense history of the merchant service in WW2.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2017
Excellent reading.As one who served in the Merchant and Royal Navies throughout WW11 I now realise how lucky I was to survive. I am now 95 years old. I do not classify myself as a hero. I was just doing my job
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
It is a good account if that's the right word of the battles fought on the high seas it must have been hell for the merchant seamen who had little protection at first a good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
Excellent Book, good condition, prompt delivery, what more can I say?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2017
A fascinating read and obviously well researched. As one who went to sea in the 1950's I now realise how lucky I was. The only thing that nearly killed me was the paperwork. The last chapter about the demise of our Merchant Navy really tells it like it is. Like Bernard I ended up working an Arab company watching the slow deterioration of standards. Well recommended read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2011
Having read dozens of maritime history books this is the first covering the experiences of the seaman and ships of the merchant navy. Bernard Edwards writes with a clear emotional connection to the sea, the ships and the men that sailed them, bringing the reader much closer to the daily lives of merchant men at war. I contrast this to other books which are often matter of fact, distant and elitist e.g. Dog boats at war, yet seem to get good reviews. This book is a genuine good read written by someone with a passion for his subject.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2015
The merchant seamen were very brave people some were only 15years old as some ships carried cabin boys which wasn't mentioned in the book. Another point was they were poorly paid and if torpedoed they went off pay when the ship was lost. They deserved much more for there tenacity and bravery in keeping Britain supplied throughout the war.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)