Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Matt Terry Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
9
4.6 out of 5 stars


on 8 February 2016
This book was very informative and interesting. It really helps you to understand how our rural ancestors lived, very pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2017
Very informative, and a great addition to the library
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2017
A good read. It came when promised
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
Pleased with purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2012
In 1851 half the population were in the countryside, so most people will have rural ancestors. Jonathan Brown, honorary fellow of the Museum of English Rural Life, has compiled this readable and informative guide for family historians, in which he explains the structure of rural society and its people -- the migrant workers, the farm labourers, the farmers, the village tradesmen, the professional classes and the landowners -- to discover who they were, how they lived, what records they might have left, and how to locate and decipher these historical resources.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
This book provides interesting background information and advise as to where to look for further details. Did not answer all my questions but maybe this was not possible anyway.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2011
If you have rural ancestors in your family, and who doesn't, this is a very insightful book. All kinds of trades and labourer are mentioned in this book. A very valuable tool for the Family Historian.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2013
I haven't read the whole book yet, but I am under the impression that everything the author writes about is what I already know. To be fair, there are snippets which are interesting, but the information hasn't pointed me in the right direction to discover rural ancestors. Online resources are abundant, and I have found these to be better than this book so far.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2015
Exactly what I wanted to further my research into my Ag Lab ancestors. A small book that contains lots of useful information.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)