Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
22
5.0 out of 5 stars

on 8 January 2013
I've found Nurturing Natures a must read for anyone who has a baby or young children. it's not meant only for professionals but for anyone who raises kids or is involved in child care in any capacity since it provides tons of information on child development but presented in a very accessible way; moreover, to me as a parent it's given answers to many questions that i've had about the psychological development and wellbeing of my baby and it also confirmed many hunches that I've had about the loving care of babies and young children.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
I really like the way the book uses attachment theory and real- life examples to illustrate its points about how normal development can be very straightforward and humans naturally form strong bonds with those closest to them. I thought it was more for a general audience than, say, psychotherapists, counsellors and I would have preferred something a bit more theoretical. However, for that audience it's excellent and is written, as I understand it, to counter a view of child development taught in some psychotherapy trainings that focuses more on so-called negative emotions, such as hatred, envy and so on, at the expense of positive connections.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
This book was recommended to me by a social worker experienced in fostering and adopting - we were thinking of adopting. Essential reading if you are thinking of taking on someone else's child. Also extremely insightful - forces you to look at yourself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
An excellent book for anyone studying human growth and development and attachment. This book definetely needs to be on the purchese list for all Social work students, an excellent source of reference.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2015
Accesible to anyone willing to understand development, highly recommendable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2015
used it as part of a course on the social and emotional development. It did what it said on the tin!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2014
A very clear book outlining the ideas of a variety of theories about attachment etc. Good for easy reference and clearly written. A good acquisition for those interested in in this work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2013
Fascinating book with loads of information that I was looking for. Very well presented with useful glossary. Really helpful for my studies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
I had to buy this book for my course but it is very good at summarising papers and giving you an easy to understand overview of each topic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2016
used at work
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here