Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
18
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 March 2007
I am studying for an MSc in Neuroscience, Language and Communication at UCL and this book is essential reading for anyone studying in that area. It is clearly written and explains everything really well, so that even complicated concepts don't confuse!! Great book :)
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2009
For any psychology student (Masters or Undergraduate), this is a comprehensive, well-structured first approach to the field. Examples are coherent and illustrations greatly help understanding the sometimes difficult context.

A good basis for dissertation research too, this book is a classic and highly regarded amongst scholars.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2011
N.B. A quick summary of my opinion can be found at the end of this review!

This book was recommended reading for a MSc module on the brain and brain imaging, and I decided to "try it out" using a library-borrowed copy to make sure I wouldn't waste my money if I bought it. After reading a few pages, I was convinced it was worth the money.

Ward is very good in presenting the key information in an attractive and interesting way, without being patronising or leaving out vital details. Every potentially complicated word is clearly defined in glossary tables on each page, and information is accompanied by useful and clear diagrams, which really helped me personally to understand what was written on the page. Ward also applies the information to case studies and at the end of each chapter provides a summary, example essay questions to test what has just been learned, and references to further reading, should the reader wish to follow up the topic discussed.

All in all, I would not only recommend this book to students, both undergraduate and postgraduate, but also lecturers looking for a clear and detailed way of presenting key facts to students (there are also "Online Instructor Resources" free of charge to accompany the book for instructors wishing to use the textbook for their course) and indeed anyone who has an interest in cognitive neuroscience or quite simply how the brain works.

Summary:
Positives - Accessible, interesting, informative, descriptive, attractive presentation of information
Negatives - Hardly any! Perhaps not recommended for anyone who already has a firm understanding of most concepts of cognitive neuroscience.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2011
A comprehensive introduction to the subject. Ward explains even the more complex concepts concisely and makes excellent use of examples in the literature. I'm beginning a masters in this subject in September and reading this has been a huge help, his recommendations of further reading at the end of each chapter are well chosen and by reading this you already have the tools to understand them.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2012
This is the single best introduction into the world of psychology you will ever, ever find. It covers the biology, the research methods, the cognitive and neuropsychological methods.

I admit that it does ignore the behavioural method a bit but this is essentially a book on cognitive neuroscience so the fact it lulls you into expecting so much from it is only a testiment to how good it is.

If you only ever buy one book through your entire first year this is definitely the one to get (not advised to buy only one book though)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
This book was very useful to me as a psychology undergraduate with a keen interest in neuroscience fields of research through my second and third years on the course. It is not very detailed, as is understandable given the broad scope of the subject, but has nevertheless provided a highly accessible reference point for understanding the context of research papers within and beyond the realms of my course.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
I chose this book for my daughter as it is on her very long university reading list. With text books generally being very expensive, this was the best price for a new book I could find. It's nice to feel that you've saved a bit of cash on an expensive item!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2012
Very useful introduction to Cognitive Neuroscience.
Particularly helpful, though short, explanation of fMRI and it's uses.
I feel that some areas, however, were a bit basic.

Would recommend to final year undergraduates or postgrads.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2016
The writer's passion for the subject is apparent and the edition contains many current examples. Much of the detail aids understanding on rather obtuse subjects, so this is an excellent companion on relevant courses.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2012
I bought this book to help with revision, it was recommended for my course. I found it was a very useful starting point to get to grips with methods used in Cognitive Neuroscience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)