Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 May 2014
Funny, funny! But they should have visited Yeovil! Even Poundland has shutdown for goodness sake! It is dire. And we had a quick mac then left quickly! And don't get me started on Poole! You would think being located in a posh area that swanky shops, trendy coffee houses and lovely shopping centre but alas anothe crap town!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2017
Funny funny funny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2015
Fab!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
I love these books, having read the first two I knew what to expect. It's written in the same tone and with the same humour as the others and there are some interesting choices for towns in this one - some rather surprising! The only slight thing I think wasn't as good with this book was the cartoons - I did prefer the simplicity and cutting humour of the others - but that is a very minor thing. Loved the book, couldn't put it down!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
Fantastic and amusing read - full of local pics from locals. And in a more serious not hopefully will make some councils (doubt it though) really look at what they are doing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
A little disappointed. I'm not sure this is quite as good as their other 'crap town' books. Somehow the observations seemed less witty and clever. Maybe it's me or maybe it's because something like this does not work quite so well in a recession. That may seem like a paradox when everyone (including town planners) are strapped of cash and small shops are closing by the minute. That said there were some funny entries and any fan of the 'crap series' should add this to their collection.

But this is all about crap towns so I'm afraid the final appendix - not so crap - was totally misplaced although I liked the entry for Hackney.

Sorry, London has its problems and is far too expensive but it did not deserve the No 1 slot especially after the 2012 Olympics.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2016
I bought this book in a pound-shop for no other reason than that it had kept me entranced at the bookshelves for so long, I felt compelled to buy something and leave. I’d naturally expected it to be 95% crap, but it turned out to be one of the most entertaining and informative resources on British towns – better than, say, Bill Bryson or the BBC. Not merely for the journalistic independence of the contributors and editors, but frankly because they are able to show absolute bias without fear of censorship. Who knew that Boston in Lincolnshire was an important town until the 17th century, when one-third of its population fled to Massachusetts, hence the name of the state capital and the fact that absolutely nothing has happened in Boston, Lincs since that time. Or that Newhaven in Sussex is so depressing that even a fleeing Lord Lucan favoured a midnight cliff dive over a protracted escape. Or that by simply living in Brighton I am 75% certain to be a massive cock (as distinct from merely possessing such a thing). Worth up to three quid of anyone’s money. But don’t pay £10 for it. It’s still full of crap.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
I chuckled and laughed out loud. Cruel, a bit cynical (truth hurts). As a near-Sotonian I could be aggrieved by the inclusion of Southampton, but it is a bit of a dump (in places).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
what a surprise to find my home town in it!! Bought as a stocking filler for a friend. this book has been passed round to so many people . simple idea - but sooo funny
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2016
The book was well packaged, and delivered before arrival estimate. This book makes a great stocking filler, highly recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)