Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
18
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
5
3 star
5
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 May 2012
A 'used' book in excellent condition as promised by seller, and just 87p. Very rapid delivery. Purchased so I can read to my blind mother who is in hospital and loves Paul Temple. If only I could also do the cut glass accents of yesteryear, too.
Traditional Paul Temple storyline, pure escapism to another era of polite society in beautiful clothes and dangerous villains, a stolen Jaguar with a dead young woman in the boot gets the story going. A joy if you allow yourself to just flow with the story.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2015
This is really good plot like all the paul temple books they have very different thyme s
I like all the books in the paul temple series and I also have the audio version s
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2015
Not the best "Temple" !. I suggest reading the book in one or at the most two stints as the characters are not exactly memorable, for me however, a fan of the crime stories set in the thirties, forties and indeed the fifties, worth a read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2014
I'm a big fan of the Arcturus Crime Classics series as I have read some great long-forgotten books from writers I had never heard of. This one has a certain charm and style about it, with a debonair man-about-town famous writer and his glamorous sophisticated wife being asked by the police to help them with their enquiries. They experience life threatening adventures before the hero unravels the mystery and the dastardly villain. It is enjoyable but from a modern eye it is quite dated and the story is rather weak.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Most people are aware of Paul Temple, which started off with the plays written by Francis Durbridge for BBC Radio. There were also films and a tv series, as well as a comic strip that followed, also there were several novels which Durbridge wrote in collaboration with others.

In this one Paul Temple, and his wife, Steve are on the trail of a murderer. When a woman is found dead in the boot of a stolen car rumours abound that Temple will be assisting the police. Temple originally is determined to stay out of the case, as he is arranging to sell the film rights to one of his books. But when Temple and his wife are run off the road, and another woman turns up dead, Temple is ready to offer all the assistance he can. With both women employed by the same person, the list of suspects is continually expanding.

With Steve going off by herself into danger, Temple has to slowly eliminate the suspects until he comes up with the culprit, and the reasons behind the murders. With murder, intrigue and conspiracy this is a good book to immerse yourself into and escape from the mundanities of real life.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2012
Like hearing 'Coronation Scot', reading this took me back to my childhood in the 1950s. Sitting listening to Paul Temple and the ...... Mystery/Affair in our living room by the light of the fire. The writing instantly draws you back in time, to a time when Scotland Yard 'consulted' the crime novelist Paul Temple (not dissimilar to the Inspector Japp/Hercule Poirot relationship) whenever an unusual case presented itself. Temple and his wife Steve are suave, sophisticated, chic and wealthy. He drives an expensive car and collects 'art' bought in expensive galleries, she dresses a la mode patronising the 'best' fashion houses and hairdressers. They 'sip' Conquistador sherry or dry Martinis and Paul drinks expensive whiskey (no doubt Single Malt). Reading it one realises quickly just how wide the gulf was between the 'haves' and the 'have-nots', and how corrupt and murderous, 1950s Britain was, still slowly emerging from rationing. To be honest the writing is not all that good and the plot leaves much to be desired.
No-one reading it as a detective story could hope to guess the killer. The plot goes through the usual Durbridge hoops and you quickly realise (if you've heard the radio broadcasts available on CD) that it is much like any other Paul Temple story; there's the usual attempts at killing off, or at least frightening, Temple and his wife in a car 'accident' or a kidnapping. There's the usual motoring trips, when few drove cars, to rural inns or hotels and the usual mention of trips abroad - something few had made unless serving in the forces in the 1950s, which add to the glamour. Whilst reading the book I was mentally hearing the voices of Peter Coke & Marjorie Westbury and half expecting 'Coronation Scot' to start up at the end of every other chapter. In fact the book reads like a novelisation (horrible word), rather than the other way round, of a radio drama and I suspect would work much better in that medium. Having said that it's undoubtedly a good read in a genre Waterstones would describe as 'cosy crime' and whiles away a couple of hours in harmless fun, provided you don't take it seriously.
Arcturus have published 'The World of Tim Frazer' in the same series which I recently picked up cheaply in a charity shop. I'm not sure I would really want to read another Paul Temple mystery and much prefer to listen to the original radio dramatisations on CD.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2014
Not exceptional but a good read none the less
If you like the paul temple genre then you will appreciate this book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2014
Used to he Francis Durbridge on the radio when I was a child. My parents would listen to is stories on the radio. I enjoy the background and style of writing. No swearing but a good light hearted mystery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2012
great fan of paul temple used to listen to radio show. furst time Ive read a francis durbridge book. maybe a bit old fashioned.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2015
You never know the real plot or the villain till the end. Will read more novels written by this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse