Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
17
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 July 2013
Last volume was the sex, now this is the violence. The Boys must be taken out and so the Supes get nasty. The first part is an extended fight scene that goes on longer than the infamous scrap in "They Live." There is a cameo from a previously featured character but it feels rather gratuitous. It does make for a nice break from the dialogue heavy previous volumes but it isn't The Boys' greatest strength.

Then we come to the staple of all comic books - the origin story. We learn about Mothers' Milk in a genuinely emotional and moving tale of family hardship. It also has M.M. doing an incredible impression of Butcher in a superb flourish of language. Then Frenchie who paints an absurd, surrealist vision that is absolutely hilarious. Then the Female, in a pastiche of Akira and an almost word for word scene from the film Aliens.

The art is still top notch. There are some very nice techniques and great visual flair that is finally managing to escape the epic weight of the writing. We do get a few questions answered, or at least some more pieces of what has been puzzling us. This is a pleasant change of pace that makes us even more eager to press on. As always, Thumbs Up!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
If you have got this far in the story arc you wont need to be told how good The Boys is, if you have jumped in here do your self a favor and go back to the beginning and enjoy the whole thing. Each time I order a new one of these beautiful trades i re-read the entire series to date, each time picking up more of the subtle details, jokes, sub-plots and visual design of the entire story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2010
The Self Preservation Society is a triumphant return to the level of storytelling found in "The Name of the Game" and "Good for the Soul" after the misfire that was "Herogasm". Vought American decide to do something about The Boys and send their second best supes out to sort them out. Leading them is a Nazi superhero called Stormfront who takes out The Female and Mother's Milk leaving it up to Butcher to sort it out. A great character from earlier in the series shows up in the finale and it's suggested that there's something about Butcher's past that's of particular interest to Vought.

And speaking of pasts, we get the origin stories of Mother's Milk, Frenchie, and The Female. Mother's Milk is the best one as it links the stories of Vought with the tragedy of the Brooklyn Bridge seen in "Good for the Soul" (this universe's version of the Twin Towers). Frenchie's story is great with Ennis throwing in every single French stereotype he can - Frenchie's dad, wearing a black and white striped shirt, a beret, and a string of onions, is killed by a croissant thrown by a villain saying "Hee Haw Hee Haw!". The Female's origin is also a great story that riffs on France's most famous cartoon Gaul and certainly underlines the "female is the strongest of the species" line used previously.

The excellent Carlos Eszquerra contributes art to this book while Darick Robertson makes a welcome return after taking a break with Vol 5. Garth Ennis is as brilliant as always.

The Boys are back and they've never been better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2010
The Self Preservation Society is a triumphant return to the level of storytelling found in "The Name of the Game" and "Good for the Soul" after the misfire that was "Herogasm". Vought American decide to do something about The Boys and send their second best supes out to sort them out. Leading them is a Nazi superhero called Stormfront who takes out The Female and Mother's Milk leaving it up to Butcher to sort it out. A great character from earlier in the series shows up in the finale and it's suggested that there's something about Butcher's past that's of particular interest to Vought.

And speaking of pasts, we get the origin stories of Mother's Milk, Frenchie, and The Female. Mother's Milk is the best one as it links the stories of Vought with the tragedy of the Brooklyn Bridge seen in "Good for the Soul" (this universe's version of the Twin Towers). Frenchie's story is great with Ennis throwing in every single French stereotype he can - Frenchie's dad, wearing a black and white striped shirt, a beret, and a string of onions, is killed by a croissant thrown by a villain saying "Hee Haw Hee Haw!". The Female's origin is also a great story that riffs on France's most famous cartoon Gaul and certainly underlines the "female is the strongest of the species" line used previously.

The excellent Carlos Eszquerra contributes art to this book while Darick Robertson makes a welcome return after taking a break with Vol 5. Garth Ennis is as brilliant as always.

The Boys are back and they've never been better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
I'll keep it short because if you have made it to the 6th issue you already know what your getting with the Boys but I will say that I think this issue takes it back to it's best. The last two issues have been good but this one is great.

We get some good Boys against the Supes fighting early on and we finally get the back story of Mothers Milk, Frenchie and the Female. The artwork is stunning as always. I really loved this issue and I'll be starting 7 today.

If you're reading this but haven't read the first 5 I'd start at the beginning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2010
The books in this series cannot really be read in isolation, so new readers to "The Boys" please do not start here (go see: The Boys: The Name of the Game v. 1).

For series veterans, the comedic highlights are two back stories narrated by Frenchie and the grittier stuff is the solo tour de force delivered by Butcher. The Frenchie back stories are on a par with the Ennis-scripted Jody and TeeCee story from Preacher: Ancient History, for the many crossover fans out there. It is also interesting to see the supporting character of Queen Maedbh beginning to develop.

Something that strangely disappointed me was that Carlos Ezquerra drew some of the episodes. I have been reading Carlos' work for 35 years now and he is one of my favourite comic artists, however I felt that the characters in "The Boys" - particularly the female ones - required a more detailed brush than he brought to them. I like to think of this as a compliment to Darick Robertson's artwork rather than any slight on Carlos, however.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2016
The Boys is an outstanding series, very explicit so keep this as far away from your kids as you can! but its high quality storytelling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2015
One of the best GN series I have read. Up there with The Preacher ! Great story and great art work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2011
This book put me off reading any more in the series.

This saddened me greatly since I like the premise and am a fan of other Ennis works (see The Pro & Preacher).

In this volume it seems the ideas run dry so the inevitable back stories are aired, masked by a cynical sense of self awareness and irony which would have inspired humour in the earlier editions. The back stories themselves seem spread a bit thin and rushed, dispensing with detail in favour of gore.

Perhaps the history of The Boys is essential at this stage, but all at once? It just feels like filler at a time when the story as a whole was gaining momentum.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If there's one thing guaranteed to brighten my day, its getting to spend time with "The Boys." Garth Ennis has a real touch of humour, his characters are people you just tend to love and to be honest, it's a great idea to have a team of people set up to kick the hell out of the superheroes for when they step out of line. Of course this earns them enemies, of course its got Ennis' warped humour and of course you're guaranteed top art as Robertson's involved. This is the Superhero Graphic novel series for adults. I love it, my twin loves it and my Dad loves it (as I've just discovered that the latest offering has been "borrowed" proves.) Great stuff and definitely something to make any readers day no matter how bad the previous events have gone so far.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse