Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 25 June 2016
For fans of the Hammer movies, this book is a treat. It presents a collection of glossy photos as well as detailed information on each of the lovely ladies who starred in the films. These women provided a distinctive 'glamourous' feel to each movie - often in a slightly provocative, alluring manner (and occasionally in a more overtly sexualised fashion).

Drawing of the Hammer achieves, dozens of both colour and black & white photos have been found and assembled. And each actress has, whenever possible, been interviewed - and provided with an opportunity to recollect what it was like taking part in these famous British films.

This is a well-presented book, and it's obvious that a great deal of care and attention has gone into producing it. Typically it's the male protagonists - such as Peter Cushing and Christopher Lee - who get all the attention. This book rightly seeks to redress that situation. Now we can once again admire the 'glamour' that was an essential part of Hammer!
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2014
Very nice book with beautiful pictures and full of original informations about Hammer and the actresses. The Hammer fans can't be disappointed.
However, two things bothered me.
First, I do not understand why the author speaks negatively about the movies or scenes where nudity is exploited. If he thinks so, he would not have done this book on the erotic aspects of the Hammer Films. I see a bit of hypocrisy here.
Secondly, I was very surprised to find that Kirsten Betts, one of the most striking female icons of Hammer, is not even mentioned in this book. Everyone remembers the incredible scene in The Vampire Lovers where this beautiful female vampire tries to bite the Baron, and where the latter beheads her with a blade. This is one of the iconic images of the studio. On the other hand, Hy Hazell or Shirley Grey are entitled to an article. Who remembers these Hammer actresses ?
And Pippa Steel, who played not least than two vampire Hammer films, and who does not appear anywhere in this book ... It's beyond comprehension.
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2016
Having previously read Mr Hearn's other book, The Hammer Vault, I finally got around to purchasing Hammer Glamour. And I was not disappointed. A fine selection of classic promo-shots and previously unseen photos pepper a wealth of background story, looking at some of Hammer's most iconic - as well as lesser-known - actresses. A great casual read and thoroughly entertaining. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2010
A well researched fine read. With obvious appeal to all us chaps, the book is good on biographical content and it's interesting to find out about all those lovely ladies. Who they were, where they came from and how the career blossmed etc - or as in some cases it simply didn't. Is a fine tribute to female beauty. I noted Martin Beswick surprisingly disliked her 1 or 2 second nude glimpse shot in Doctor Jekyll and Sister Hyde but later happily made a couple of soft sex films elsewhere delighting fans.

As no one seems to knock say Sean Connery, Brad Pit or other leading men for their looks and where it got them, so I don't see why women shouldn't be equally proud of their attractiveness. The book could even benefit from more saurcy shots than there are, as many just fine portaits appear. The best hammer movies were typically well underated and made many happy. The books a collectable gem.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2013
Not at all a book full of naughty pictures (well, some are) but a fantastic insight into the lives of cinema's most overlooked ladies. It's very well researched (fresh interviews were carried out with many of the actresses) and it's amazing to read how many of them went on to be actually quite well known for other things (fashion designers, models, Bond girls - quite a few Bond girls actually). The photos are fantastic too, the cover photo of the busty Madeline Smith is a perfect choice to capture the look of "Hammer Glamour" as a whole - I'll admit it was a deciding factor in my purchase too! To my surprise, my wife also enjoyed flicking through the pages and commenting on some of the lovely ladies and what they were wearing (or NOT wearing) and agreed it was great addition to my horror collection.

A fine present for anyone you know who enjoys the world of Hammer horror. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2018
Disappointing. But if the subjects were given publication refusal on the photos used, as the text suggests, then it is not surprising in these more prudish days. I was hoping to find out who the girl was that fell out of the church bell (and almost her dress) in one of the Dracula films, but it was not to be. Dare we hope for a sequel that will re(un)dress the balance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 September 2013
After purchasing the Marcus Hearn History of Hammer Films I just had to get this book as well.

It contains the story of many ladies who graced the screen under the banner of Hammer Films and what interesting stories they are.As in life, not every actress fulfilled her dreams and went onto movie stardom (for lots of different reasons) but not one indicated any bad feeling toward their time at Hammer.
Marcus has assembled a terrific array of pictures (many unseen before) and his text is both informative and entertaining.

A great buy for the Hammer fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 March 2018
awsome book on the lovely ladies of hammer recomended for fans of the glamour of hammer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2016
Very good for Hammer fans,although i feel some of the photos could have been a little sharper.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 May 2014
Gorgeous book at a great price I'm a big fan of the hammer horrors and loved looking at all the lush pictures in this book and reading the bios of the actresses, it's worth buying for the stunning cover pic of Madeline Smith alone!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)