Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Matt Terry Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 9 July 2016
One bad thing about internet or big data is that you count so much on it. Nowadays, people check stars online before read a book, check stars online before go to a restaurant, check stars online before go to an attraction and before do almost everthing. If you do so, you will miss this book as it only gets three and half stars!

After reading some of classic Batman stories, such as the Dark Knight Returns, Year One, the Long Holloween, and etc, I've decided to read Grant Morrison's batman run. I heard that his work is confusing, bad story telling bla bla, but, you know what, it is, in fact, brilliant. I love Frank Miller. his Dark Knight return is just like a wonderful novel with dark and deep thoughts. I love Scott Snyder, his new 52 batman, including all the stories: Court/City of Owls, Death of Family, Zero Year, Endgame and even the Bloom, is amazing and is just like a beautiful action movie.

Grant Morrison, he is a freak, the beginning of the book makes me feel exactly like I was watching a movie. The story itself is amazing! And, his way of storytelling...when I was reading, it happened several times like "AHA! so he meant...""wow so he mentioned something before is...".

I am a big Grant Morrison fan now, I am not saying that he is better than Frank Miller, Alan Moore, Scott Snyder and so on, but he is really a geinus with deep mind not just about comic but life as well.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2012
This volume reprints Batman #676-683 and DC Universe #0. It appears to continue from the preceding volume, so this story might be confusing if you haven't read The Black Glove (which I haven't). On the other hand, as this is Grant Morrison, it might just be confusing for the sake of it. Anyway, Batman appears to be infatuated with yet another female, Jezebel Jet, while under psychological and physical attack from the Black Glove organisation. He is captured, drugged, and released onto the streets of Gotham while under the influence. He appears to hallucinate the presence of Bat-Mite (referred to occasionally as `might' - a typo or a message?) and starts to `remember' some 1950s adventures. It all apparently turns out to be part of a psychological defence mechanism, and we get to see some interesting back-story of his early training, while Robin, Nightwing and friends take care of the enemy henchmen. It all climaxes with the Joker doing what he does best, and Talia al' Ghul demonstrating that diplomatic passports don't work against angry wives... It is a sometimes confusing story, as I have said, but if you persevere, you might work it out (though you can never tell with Grant Morrison if you are supposed to). There is a second, two-part story, which takes place within the Final Crisis, and explains what Batman was doing during his capture and his escape and final confrontation with Darkseid. This might be worth five stars if I thought I followed it correctly, and if I had read the preceding volume, I might have. But then again, if I had, I might have reduced the score to three... This volume is definitely a personal experience.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2016
I really enjoyed this book, but its important to have a working knowledge of Batman history and to have read the book Batman: The Black Glove as this is basically its sequel. The storyline is rather complex and is definitely not a jumping on point for new readers and even experienced readers may not like or understand the writing style. On a personal level I loved the substance here, Batman springs a trap years in the making that targets him on every level and takes advantage of every little crack in his armour in the most horrible way possible. Bane may have broke Batman physically years ago, but this story tells of how Bruce Wayne was broken.
The story also ties in with Final Crisis at the end and bridges the gap between the two story lines and also enhances Batman's appearance during Final Crisis showing us in more detail what he endures. A fantastic story, great art and a real landmark piece of Batman history, and if thats not enough to draw you in then how about a book that also contains Joker in his own little mystery, what does he really think of the Black Glove and Batman?
Contains Batman #676 - #683, DC Universe #0
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2012
wow. Morrison, a genius in his own right has managed to craft a tale that makes 70 years of batman all fit into a 15 year career. It's fantastic and makes you believe the silver age was all part of Morrison's epic, defining saga. It is recommended you read The Black Casebook and Batman and Son and Batman the black glove prior to this (in said order) as without this, you will be confused. If you are patient and slightly intelligent, you will enjoy this clever tale that changes everything you thought you knew about the Batman, and the limitations of story telling.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2015
First off, the title is confusing because i assumed this is when Batman dies in the VERY NEXT story!
They make it sound like the villain might be his father which no reader will consider is true for even one second
The Zur Arrah Batman is just stupid. I know its customary to resurrect old comic tropes, usually for a special but it just dates the story more.
Art work is beautiful but nothing else attractive about this forgettable story
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2015
Maybe it's just me but i just cant get my head around grant morrisons take on batman?! It just doesnt make any sense to me, the storys seem all over the place which is how i feel about this one. Im not sure how he ended up being strapped to a chair and drugged in the last issue when in the issue before he was hanging on a chopper. Art is great though!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2012
First off let me make it clear that in order to read this you should first read 'the black glove deluxe' book. this is very important and for many who read R.I.P without doing so, i think this is what produced such poor reviews. this story is the book end of a much longer story arc that starts with the first 'batman & Son' story 'how to build a better batmobile' and continues beyond this book into 'final crisis'. Again, this is why i would recommend the 'black glove deluxe' as it also contains the 'batman & son' trade issues as well as all the corresponding 'black glove' issues that lead into this story. Rip is only one 'chapter' and everything that takes place in this story can not only be very confusing if you haven't read the rest of grant morrisons run, but can tend to make no sense at all. However, that said, if you have followed morrisons arc from at least 'batman & son' onward then this story is utterly superb! we see bruce psychologically broken down in a far worse way than his iconic battle with bane during the 'knightfall' storyline and are witness to the lengths he will go to to over come. batman has become ever so much darker a title over the years and this story is about as bleak as it gets! the joker is downright horrifing in this incarnation. the art is beautiful, morrison use's the surreal elements of the plot to look back over batmans entire career as we count down to our heros inevitable demise (again, not actually seen here but in final crisis, the writing is top draw and once you read this you should definatly pick up 'final crisis'. excellent!!!
Batman: The Black Glove Deluxe
Final Crisis
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 1 February 2011
I dont think this is a love it or hate it deal this comic, it couldnt really provoke those sorts of strong emotions but it is an alright read. So it is a "just middling" or "just OK" storyline, it has its pros and cons.

The artwork on the other hand is amazing, I really like the way that Batman is drawn and I think the Joker is here depicted in a way which is simultaneously annoyingly akin to some of the costumed incarnations of Goth Superstar Maryln Mason but also as frightening as the Joker has ever been (including the latest incarnation in Dark Knight).

The pros in the storyline include reflections on Bruce Wayne's personal mission to perfect himself in mind, body and spirit (I really appreciated this, as a long time fan this often is over written by his crime fighting cause), there are lots of elements included here from the earliest days of Batman to the more contemporary comic strips.

The artists and authors also use flashbacks and memory storyboards to full effect which prove absorbing and you wind up feeling like you could be participating in a hallucination or mind bending trip along with Batman, it takes real talent to achieve that sort of non-linear effect.

However, this is also one of the cons, upon finishing the comic you have a sort of "what just went on there?" feeling and rereading it its not that very enlightening on a second time around. You could reach one conclusion but you could as easily reach another.

Superficially the story is one of an international criminal cabal of the uber rich who conspire to break and kill The Batman for sport, so far, so done before, there are elements of betrayal by a lover, messing with Batman's head with both drugs and psychological conditioning, likewise that's been done before, and they finally include The Joker who turns homicidal on them and crazy, nothing new there then. So given that all this has a familiar ring to it I kind of found it hard to treat it as plausible that this could possibly be the end of Batman or that it would even be a major challenge. This isnt the first encounter that Batman has had with the principle villain so I found the idea of implanting a psychological que to a breakdown unconvincing too. Also it seemed like every man and his dog was aware of both the location of the Batcave and that Batman was Bruce Wayne.

So I can say that I liked it but it was just OK, it is also the platform from which later storylines featuring a sort of "Team Batman" as groups and groups of superheroes are drawn to Gotham to share the crime fighting effort. I would recommend this mainly to fans of Batman, although a general reader could like it too.
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
If you love insane artwork and stories to match,then and if you are a Batfan,you have to get a copy of this graphic novel.
The Joker artwork is fantastic and scary,its all in here Murder and Mayhem at its best!
I would love to see DC give this the same treatment as Dark Knight Returns and put it out on dvd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2009
This storyline has been building for a while. Morrison has been working hard on integrating all the Batman stories ever written into one narrative, and has succeeded brilliantly, even managing to include the weird 1950's SF stuff by explaining it away as an hallucination brought on by a sensory deprivation experiment.

This is not linear storytelling. This is a challenging (but very rewarding) read. The story does become fractured, but that fits perfectly with the context of The Black Glove taking Batman apart at a psychological level. Be prepared to have to read this several times to pick up on all of the threads. You'll also have to be prepared to read it all in one go, since as with the majority of Morrison's best work, the devil is indeed in the details.

If you want a traditional Batman tale, this is definitely not for you. You'll probably hate it (as many of the reviewers here seem to) if you just want a comic book action movie featuring Batman. If you're prepared for a wild, insane ride through Batman's biggest challenge so far (well... until The Omega Effect, anyway), you'll enjoy this.
22 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)