Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
10
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
3
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

The five `Joker's Asylum' one-shot comics Joker #1, Penguin #1, Poison Ivy #1, Scarecrow #1 and Two-Face #1 are collected as Batman: Joker's Asylum (Batman). These stories have a sort of framing sequence with the Joker introductory and closing narration to each story from his room in Arkham. Each story is by a different writer and artist, and features an archetypical story for each of the main characters, though they are not always in the forefront of the story - it depends on their style of operating; the Joker and Two-Face are dead-centre of theirs, while the scarecrow is a more shadowy background figure. It is a pleasant read, but nothing special.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2009
This as any good story should do, changes your perception on the crime lords. Amazing drawn and written stories.

In the story with two face, you see him meeting his opposite, a young lad who has had disfiguratiin to half his face, but is on the other side of the prison glass and on the other side of life.

With Penguin, you feel so sorry for him. finally Danny DeVito's version is clear from our heads and ready for us to accept him again.

Poison Ivy's is sex driven as always, but thats what we come to expect from her.

Scarecrow, we see him almost like a father figure, protecting a young girl who is being bullied. he lives up to his scarecrows image and basically kills the bullies by using their own fear.

And with the Joker telling us the stories as the Crypt Keeper would have.

I throughly enjoyed this and would recommend it to be added to anyones collection
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2009
Instead of one main story this is really 5 separate stories about different villains. Joker, penguin, poison ivy, scarecrow and two-face.

As with most batman books these stories try to deliver more than just superhero action, but a glimpse into the souls of each books main character. Some of the stories are better than others, but none of them are bad. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys the bad guys in gotham city,but if your out and out batman fan he isnt involved in this one much.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
I adore this comic so much. Having already read the second volume of jokers asylum i was eager to get my hands on the first one. There are five seperate stories in this book with each story being told by the joker. Id recommend this book to anyone who likes batman or just comics in general. The seller was very helpful letting me know when my order was deliver and it arrived quickly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 March 2009
Despite the book calling itself BATMAN, it is the Joker who is the lead character throughout. He introduces the reader to a series of stories, all of which are beautifully written and wonderfully illustrated. The most memorable scene is a silhouette of the Penguin walking away after losing the woman he loved. Absolutely wonderful! This book is highly recommended, whether as a fan of Batman and his gathering of Arkham criminals, or purely as a graphic novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2010
As batmans most feared foe it was refreshing to have a read where he isn't out to destroy the bat. I could imagine that the joker knows intimate things about all of the bats foes. So for him to sit in his padded room telling tales or his co-habbitons was marvelous. I enjoyed his little rant at two face through the cells as well. The joker enjoys to tell tales so he was the best choice to do a comic along those lines.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2009
After watching the dark knight and batman begins i wanted to read this graphic novel
This portrays the villians in an different light to the usual portryal and tries to explain some of their motivation and their resistance to change such as in the case of two face. Overall highly recommended and good value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2010
As man ypeople have commented prevously we see the Joker presented as the narrator for the most part introducing several characters (and stories) with moral endings... or are they ?? One for your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2009
Reviewers love this but I'm not convinced. The art work style varies per story and some work and some do not - especially the low in detail ones (Scarecrow).

The small book has the Joker tell you short stories about himself (taking over a TV Game Show), the Penguin (being bullied), Poison Ivy (why she exists), the Scarecrow (lerking at a party) and Two-Face (a game).

Some of the explaining story elements work and are good insights but there really is a lack of any real substance in content. The stories flow quickly and you never get time to get into each chapter. However it is ambitious and a great idea and fans will love the background info.

Worth a read for fans but not brilliant (as say Joker 1 or the Frank Miller sets)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2014
I enjoyed it :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)