Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
27
Schottenfreude: German Words for the Human Condition
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£12.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 29 March 2017
Delightful, and unusual book , enjoying it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2017
Great coffee table book, as a German speaker a very interesting read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 December 2017
Very good. Handy to dip into, just what I wanted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 July 2017
Unusually bound. A piece of art.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 December 2013
This book is a delight of previously undiscovered treasures of the German language ! Many aspects of the Human Condition that I was unaware existed are described - for example, the German word for ' an irrational sensation of specialness on your birthday ' (or, as Schott puts it , a 'Bonus -Sausage- Day -Feeling ') . It would make a great Christmas present for those who speak both English and German , and who understand the German habit of combining words together .
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 December 2013
The German words are terrific and something that's great for anybody to read, but even more impressive is Ben Schott's ability to come up with aspects of the 'human condition' that everyone will identify with even though they've never thought about them before. Eg. "taking pride in having a rare blood group". Great stuff!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2014
Good fun. Educational. Witty. Amusing. A wonderful way to spend a winter's evening with a glass of absinthe when the wife's deserted you. EinwunderbarerWegumeinemWinterabendmiteinemGlasAbsinthzuverbringenwenndieFrauSieverlassen.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2013
Attractively presented in non-standard size, hard-backed. It's small enough to sit on the coffee table to stimulate conersation with unexpected or unwanted guests. A lengthy German word for each condition/eccentricity - don't expect me to try to spell the burch+++ or shwaus---- here. I especially liked the word for someone who extols their description of wine but knows nothing about it. Wouldn't we like just one word for this? Then the word for knowing a descriptor but not being able to put your finger quite on the place in the book, that's fun. In fact, if you could learn these words by heart, they would serve as wonderful swearing epithets to non-German speakers, which after all is most of us. You brauchenswausenfuhrernswegger! Alternatively for those wearisome pedants who want to extol their expertise in conversation (are you one, you pain-in-the-ass?) this book provides tremendous up-your-nose fodder. As the family and friends expire, over-filled and -swilled after the Christmas dinner, you say 'Well of course, in Germany there's a word for that feeling - totally full, bloated, but sensing that just one more will fill you with Christmas job.

A great Christmas present for the right person. I'm sure there is a schbwfuhrtzzz++++++ word for this.

ps, Useless for Scrabble. Be warned.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2014
Ben Scott has produced a linguistic gem. An intriguing book exploring the amusing German "untranslatables" relating to the human condition. Who would have thought there where words for "Sunday-afternoon-depression, guest-pressure or the urge to glare at bad drivers you have overtaken. My favourite has to be "Kraftfahrzeugsinnenausstattungsneugeruchsgenuss" or new-car-smell.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 March 2014
What can I say about this book? It plays well to the German language's prediction for compound nouns and provides hours of fun for a browser. My daughter, who teaches German, has used it to provide a little light relief in her classroom and this has gone down very well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)