Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 April 2017
This is a brilliant book and one I found difficult to put down. It captures superbly the determination and dedication of Philippa Langley to find and prove the remains as Richard III. Her team of helpers showed the same determination and dedication and from the beginning you felt that whatever the setbacks they would never give up. The chapters by Michael Jones were a great help to understanding the man from the inside out. This is a book that should be read by anyone remotely interested in Richard III. It is thanks to the many people involved, who without their sheer doggedness, Richard would still be lying under a car park.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2015
Written by the inspirational Philipa Langley, the woman who was determined to find King Richard 111's remains, if at all possible.
Beautifully written by Langley, in a conversational style, along with Michael Jones.
Having followed closely the progress of the "project" in Leicester, the services in Leicester Cathedral, and the exhibition at the new Visitor Centre, This book is a must!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2015
Ever since I read The Daughter of Time by Josephine Tey many years ago, I have been interested in Richard III and the debate over whether his reputation as an arch villain.was deserved. This fascinating book combines the story of the discovery of Richard's grave in a Leicester car park with an accessible and well-researched history of his life. A sort of Who is it? rather than a Who dunnit? but just as compelling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2017
great book thank-you 100%
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2015
Both Books are a gift for a friend who is really interested in Richard 111
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
This book represents the culmination of the work of dedicated Ricardian, Phillipa Langley, and her relentless search for the remains of King Richard the Third, which were disposed of hastily and without ceremony after his defeat at Bosworth. Her refusal to give up, her lobbying for resources, and her emotional connection to the project are well documented in her paragraphs of the work, which alternate with a very clear and dispassionate examination of the life and very short reign of this monarch, whose reputation suffered at the hands of Tudor propagandists.

The "R" in the carpark is possibly one of the strangest trigger points for an archaeological dig ever, but Phillipa's instincts were so strong, and so absolutely right, that it is almost as if Richard himself was guiding the work.

Michael Jones on the other hand is not an emotional writer, and bases his historical interpretations of Richard's life and career on solid research: his work definitely redresses some of the Tudorbethan bad press that sought to bolster in every way, the slender right of Henry the Seventh to take the throne. So, not an evil Shakespearean Crookback, but a highly intelligent and physically brave man who fought to his last breath to hang on to his kingdom. The fate of his nephews, the Princes in the Tower, remains an enigma and an unresolved crime although it is clear that Richard was not the only person with an interest in their removal from the scene.

His recovered skeleton, showing significant scoliosis in his spine, indicates that he was much burdened by pain from the curvature during his life, and the sensitive reconstruction of the facial features gives us a wonderful glimpse into a long vanished past which casts a spell to this day.

This is not the best history book you will ever read, but it is very good and on Langley's part at least, written with love.
22 Comments| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
I found this an interesting and exciting read. The alternating of chapters relating to the finding of Richard III's bones and the history leading up to Bosworth adds to the enjoyment.

I found Philippa Langley's chapters relating to her journey interesting and exciting. Whilst some of her personal comments might sound strange, I put these aside - at the end of the day, her obsession and determination achieved what she set out to do, and she should be praised for that.

Michael Jones chapters were particularly good reading - particularly the chapter on Bosworth, and the moments leading up to the demise of Richard - this really was un-putdownable and almost compares to a blockbuster film - it left me wanting to read more by Mr Jones.

I would have liked more detail behind the science of the dig and the finding of the bones - that is what is missing from this book. I also found myself constantly going back to the selection of pictorial maps in the book, to better understand the positioning of the trenches and their finds - so, perhaps an overlaying map at the front of the book would have been useful - ie all together, overlaying all of the different periods and finds, together with compass points.

I have read several books on Richard III. I see myself as an objective reader of Richard - accepting that we don't know all of the facts, that these were turbulent times and very different to our own.

I recommend this book to anyone considering reading it
55 Comments| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
This is almost a "can't put down book". The process/progress of the search is skilfully interleaved with a lucid and up to date reviews of the life of Richard III. The book has just the right amount of detail for a general reader. The notes and a bibliography allow anybody wanting to delve deeper, whether they are are a general reader or a serious student of Richard III.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
I was surprised at how exciting this was considering I have watched the Channel 4 " King in the Car Park" ... on more than one occasion I must confess. I just could not wait to get on to the next day of Philippa's search. A masterstroke to have the chapters alternating with Michael Jones' take on Richard and his actions. It really emphasises how much we should beware of looking at persons in history from a modern mind set, living through the Wars if the Roses was like trying to survive in a war zone . A HIGHLY recommended read.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
My comments mirror those of others reviewers of this book. The chapters alternate one from Philippa Langley giving the present day events of the discovery of King Richard then one from Michael Jones giving the historical background of the kings life. I honestly could not put this book down even though I knew the history of Richard and I knew the outcome that he would be found after over 500 years. I loved the format of the book being transported from the 21st century one chapter back to the 15th in the next. There were times when I thought I was reading a novel that would make a very good film the way that the remains were found but as we know it is true. There will no doubt be many other books written on this subject...especially after they a decide where King Richard will eventually be laid to rest. I thoughly recommend this book whether you know little of the historical period or you are an expert.....just be warned clear your diary for a couple of days as nothing else will get done !
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)