Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
212
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 March 2017
Excellent read. I could not put it down. If you like the Shardlake novels this will not dissapoint. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
As usual Rory Clements' book had me burning the midnight oil - really couldn't put it down, it was always 'just one more chapter'.

If you enjoy the Shardlake books you will like these as well.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
Rory Clements as good as ever. John Shakespeare, yes his brother is William, is prepared to risk everything to solve horrendous murders, even when it risks his own wife's safety. Can't wait to get on to Book 3.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2017
I'm new to this series and enjoying the read immensely. Just ordered no.3. Characters are strong and although the various strands of plot can be a little demanding to pull together it doesn't spoil your enjoyment. Anyone who finds this period of history interesting will not be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
Enjoyed this book as I am enjoying others by this author. Its peppered with historical detail and description and the story rolls along at quite a pace. John Shakespear manages to get himself out of a variety of situations without the many resources available to present day book and film characters. The story links back and forth to his family and retainers and in that way prevents him from becoming the isolated 'hero' favoured by so many other authors
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2017
John Shakespeare is William Shakespeare's brother and works as spy in Elizabeth I's time. His purpose is to keep the Queen safe and he puts himself into considerable danger to do this. The story gives some insight into historical facts of the time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2017
These stories are fine and obviously contain historical research but they can feel overlong as they seem to continue after the main story and ths lose the excitement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
I've only just discovered this series of books even though they were written some years ago. Very good plot lines, if a little complicated at times, excellent on accurate historical detail, and a nice touch in that the main protagonist's brother is one William Shakespeare. I'm now up to book 6 so they must be good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
It's not Sansom, lacks both the drive and the subtleties, but it is a good tale, mostly historically accurate, and we'll told.
If you have run out of Sansom and Mantell this is a good stopgap.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
Riveting - I lived among the sights, smells and intrigues of Tudor England from cover to cover.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse