Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
21
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 2 February 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I loved this book. It was quite different to other books and films I have seen where the main character can see and talk to ghosts. Instead of it making them do embarrassing things such as chatting to thin air, it runs more along the lines of looking at the life of Anna who happens to talk to ghosts.
Nothing major happens in this story, it's a simple love story which the complication of how to tell the new man in her life that she talks to ghosts and one of them, Mozart no less, wants her to pass on tips and praise of his skill at playing Mozart's music? It's humourous and not at all like you'd expect. It's just a peak into a world that is normally portrayed as spooky and scary and embarrassing at times.
Simply a lovely book. Well worth a read, I will be reading this again soon as well as looking out for others books by this author. A good twist for a romance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 April 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Anna by day is a school teacher, but by night she has a strange secret life - she's a medium, communicating with ghosts and spirits from the other side to bring peace and resolution to those left behind. It's a noble cause, but one that has played havoc with her lovelife - few men understand her stumbled explanations and one man broke her heart when she tried to tell him about the spirits she can see. She's kept her heart locked safely away ever since. Edward a gangling talented pianist moves into her building and an unlikely romance develops between them, encouraged by an unlikely source. A sweet love story with great potential as a movie - watch out for it in cinemas sometime soon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 March 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Anna has two sides to her life, during the day she works as a supply teacher in an Elementary school, in the evenings she uses her talents as a Medium to help connect the dead with the living.

Anna has left her childhood home in Michigan State in the Mid-West United States and moved to New York City to live in a cramped studio apartment. Her life is a constant balancing act trying to keep her two very disparate personas apart and secret from others afraid of what people might think of her Medium work.

Her life begins to turn upside down when a young man called Edward moves into the downstairs apartment along with his piano. Their first meeting does not go well and Anna begins to dread the constant piano playing from downstairs that infiltrates her apartment and interrupts the silence and peace needed for her medium work in the evenings. Matters are further complicated by the arrival of a ghost who on the side of Edward enjoys his piano playing and constantly goads Anna.

Along the way we meet Anna's gay friend, Harold who is Head at the school where she works. We also meet her good friend Stacey who gets through boyfriends like hot dinners and has more money than sense!

The book is interspersed with Edward's letters back home to his neighbours in Maine, Mr & Mrs Oliver. They are his "sponsors" and pay his rent and basically helping him financially to become a talented musician in New York.
Alan, Anna's brother pays her a visit, staying with her in the apartment so he can visit some Jazz clubs. He meets Edward in the Greek Diner on the ground floor and invites him back to Anna's apartment to listen to some Jazz. After many hilarious incidents, Anna and Edward get together.

I have to say this is definitely not my usual sort of book, but I really enjoyed it, Anna is a deep character with strong emotions and I loved reading about her life and exploits and the Medium side to her life does give the book some added interest.

I recommend this book, it is fun, light reading, easy to pick up and disappear in to; great characters that feel real and hilarious laughs throughout. Brilliant!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
A romance novel with a bit of a ghost story thrown in. It runs for three hundred and thirty three pages and has ninety two chapters. Thus they're all rather short.

It's the story of Anna, a supply teacher living in New York. She has an evening job as a medium, passing on messages to people from deceased love ones. She has a twin brother and parents living elsewhere and strives to make it on her own and also get along with them.

Into her apartment building comes Edward, a superb pianist who is in training for a musical competition. A lot of the chapters are letters from him to his sponsors. His music disturbs Anna and early encounters between the pair don't go well.

But with a mysterious ghost hanging around Anna and trying to put the pair together, romance might just blossom...

And of course it will because this a romance novel so it's ending isn't going to be unpredictable. The identity and exact motivations of the ghost do remain hidden till halfway through so it's a bit of a shame the title and blurb of the book give that away.

The presence of the ghost and the way in which Anna gets messages from beyond do grab the attention at first but then the story just meanders along slowly, as you find out more about her and she lives her life with various encounters with various friends and acquaintances whilst her relationship slowly develops.

And there isn't really a great deal of chemistry between the two lovebirds.

But the medium angle and the scenes of her doing her job are quite interestingly handled and the moment when the she and Edward do really click is as well. That just lifts what would be a three star read into four star territory.

So probably more for regulars readers of this kind of thing than me, but it wasn't without it's good points.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2011
A pleasant, un-challenging romantic comedy. The characters lacked depth and the plot was as thin as toilet paper but it's an easy read and entertaining enough. A book for the airport or the train.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I really wanted to like this book but I found it rather tedious in the end. Anna is medium and to supplement her income she works as a teacher by day. She lives in an apartment block which she has always found to be quiet and peaceful - the ideal atmosphere for her work as a medium. Then a pianist moves into and starts playing classical music night and day and she is being stalked by Mozart's ghost.

I enjoyed the descriptions of Anna's consultations with her clients and the way she sees ghosts wherever she goes - especially if she visits old buildings. But I thought the book was about one hundred pages too long and Anna never really seems to take hold of her own life. I didn't find her a terribly sympathetic character either so I didn't really care enough about what happened to her. She seemed to blame everyone else for things she saw as problems - as Mrs Murphy, her mentor kept telling her.

I felt the book was over written and therefore too long and there were too many extraneous plot elements - the illness of Anna's father and the visit by her brother seemed not really relevant to the basic story. Not a book I would recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 November 2010
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Living alone in her apartment in New York Anna leads a double life - as a schoolteacher in the daytime and then in her spare time as a medium, helping people to reunite with loved ones and keeping both lives separate and secret.

She likes her routine life , quiet solitude and occasional family contacts by telephone or visits from her brother. This changes when into her apartment block and life enters Edward and his paino.
Edward is practicing for a piano competition .... then into Annas spirit life enters Mozarts ghost who is wanting Anna to send messages to Edward about his portrayal of his pieces : she in turn doesn't want to let him know her "other life" but does find him intriguing and wants to get to know him .

Of course the story then follows the usual romantic angle .... Anna is continually annoyed by the ghost and by Edwards piano playing. They get togethere and then true love , as in many novels , does not run smoothly .... it will probably end up as a B movie / Rom Com ?

Its a funny novel , it kept me interested - just - but was not as good as I'd hoped it would be, and it could have been so much better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 March 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
As an avid music lover and enthusiast, I could not resist picking up "Mozart's Ghost". My feelings at the end were mixed but, yes, if you want a good "beach read" or something light for a quiet afternoon this could be a pleasant and entertaining choice. Simply do not expect anything more challenging.

Our heroine, Anna, lives in New York in an apartment. By day, she is a teacher but, in the evening, she leaves pedagogy behind to consort with the spirits, for she is a professional medium. Things appear to be going smoothly until the arrival in her block of Edward an aspiring concert pianist complete with a powerful Steinway grand, piano hands and carrot coloured curls - and, what is more, he is practising for a competition. Enter Mozart's ghost intent on supporting his protégé and intent on conveying messages through Anna.

At first, Anna, who is not musical, resents the incessant piano practice as it disturbs her sessions with her clients and the spirits but, as you would expect, romance blossoms and she soon finds herself in love with her neighbour. She is then faced with the problem of declaring her nocturnal activities.

To go further, would be spoil the plot a little but my hand goes out to Mozart for a little matchmaking and straight talking.

The plot unfolds in a predictable manner and we are treated to a full panorama of Anna's life intertwined with New York life. We also meet her family. There is also the odd amusing moment where Mozart compares himself to his bust in a café. There could have been more momentum behind the writing to keep the storyline going.

There were parts of the book that I quite enjoyed, for example the accounts of the spirit activity, and many of the characters were quite pleasantly drawn, even though I personally could not warm to Anna. She is a little to angst driven for my taste. Despite being in the title, Mozart also makes surprisingly few appearances and his pianistic advice to Edward did not ring entirely true: surely he would have offered more incisive comments? There were also no titles given to the pieces Edward played - not even the Mozart. It would have been nice to have been given this in the light of the book's title.

In summary, this is a light and easy read but it is directed to those who enjoy romantic fiction rather than the musical enthusiast. I fall more into the latter camp than the former and yearned for more from this part portrayal of one of the greater musical masters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2010
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Quirky love story about a girl who can talk to ghosts and a concert pianist preparing for a major competition. Anna is, at first, totally appalled that Edward is a pianist, and thinks of his music as noise - that is until they share a brief romantic moment over their laundry and Anna is smitten, both with Edward and his music. Both Anna and Edward are rather awkward when it comes to romance, and Anna is also hampered by the fact that previous boyfriends have run a mile when she tells them about her "gift". What they really need is someone to help their bumpy romance along - and that comes in the form of Mozart, or rather his ghost. Mozart sees Edward as his prodigy; someone who truly understands how he wanted his music to perform, but to guide him he needs Anna to act as his go between.

This is a lovely, quirky, un-sentimental romance with great characters and a very simple story. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 September 2010
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Meet Anna. By day she is a schoolteacher, but by night she has a different job. She works as a medium, secretly helping people to reunite with their lost loved ones. It is almost as if she leads a double life, as she appears to guard her secret every bit as much as she guards her heart - until a pianist named Edward moves into her building. He is a concert pianist who demonstrates enormous musical skill; she is almost tone deaf and certainly does not appreciate his skils at first, as Edward takes over the building with his music, filling Anna's apartment with amazing sounds which disturb her both her concentration and her lines of communication with spirits; although they introduce a new ghost to her 'spectrum'! At first, we do not officially know who the spectre is (although there is a pretty big clue in the title of the book!) - however, he soon in introduces himself and, eventually, the links are made.

Romance blossoms, but there is conflict in Anna's life. By exposing her true identity, does she risk losing what may be her true love? And will her twin brother, Alan, expose her secret first?

Although not my usual genre of fiction, I have to say that I really rather enjoyed this book. There is a lot going for it, and it is an enjoyable story for anyone who has romance or a love of music at heart. It is certainly an enjoyable light read. I just had one problem with it - and that was the description of Edward's hair colour. Titian, yes; golden, yes; even orange ... but I yet have to meet anyone with natural hair that could be described as crimson, and found it hard to picture!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here