Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
44
4.1 out of 5 stars
The Power of Less
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 6 February 2016
I like Leo's work, but ironically this book could have been shorter as it gets to a stage two thirds in where you feel like it's retreading the same theme over again.

His golden rule about changing one thing at a time is essential though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2015
Identify the essential & eliminate the rest. That is the central argument of Leo Babauta's book, yet I felt the book contradicted that.

I found it frustrating to read, because Leo Babauta writes very well on his blog (Zen Habits), yet the book has so much waffle that its message seemed to dissipate. At the beginning of chapter 3, the phrase "Choose the essential" (or "Essential") is used about 7-8 times in under 2 pages.

I had hoped for a sharp, concise & practical guide to Time Management, because so many other books I've bought have this heavy element of waffle. Frustratingly, this book joined that group, despite the author's clear ability (online blog) to do otherwise.

The best Time Management book I've read is Mind-Tool's "Make Time for Success", precisely because it contains zero waffle. However, that's a PDF you'll have to buy online.

In summary, I wouldn't recommend this book, but reviews are always personal opinions, so many people might (and clearly do) think otherwise.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2015
Very thin on ideas and concepts with lots of padding
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2017
This is probobly the most boring book i have ever read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2010
Brilliantly simple yet effective. Babauta takes his own advice with the book, his delivery is powerful yet easy to digest. The essence of his book boils down to two things: Firstly, identifying the essential; and secondly, eliminating the rest. Babauta bases his book on these two key points, and builds on them as the chapters go on, both in theory but more importantly in practical application. An easy read, this book is highly recommended to people of all ages, this extremely up to date book covers most areas of life, and would be appropriate for anyone from a 15 year-old student to a 50 year old caught up in the corporate rat race. The "Power of Less" is basically about making time for the things you love and cutting out the things that you don't. Read it today!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2011
With the few exceptions of timeless classics such as Alan Lakein "How to Get Control of Your Time and Your Life", the vast majority of popular books on time management are what they are ... In my opinion, this one is different.
By reading diagonally others in bookstores, they remind me of those seminars in which there are still always some interesting ideas to integrate, but 80% of the rest of the content is of no value. And It is precisely what " The power of Less" it all about : a very interesting angle of approach of the famous Pareto 80/20 principle.

Unlike "methods" in vogue as GTD, ( which certainly have advantages too ) , Leo Babauta main idea does not consist on proposing tools to control the excess of constant task and information flows we are all trying to better manage.
Instead, he proposes to focus on reducing the flows at their bases. An as subtle as powerful difference. Of course, to focus on the tasks and information that make a real difference regarding our goal is not a new idea. But to reduce their number to minimalism seems to me to be a very pragmatic enrichment of the basic concept. Apart from this, this straight to the point book with an unpretentious style that contrasts with the content is a pleasure to read.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2010
While it's possible to read this book in a short space of time I recommend reading it gradually, letting one section sink in before moving on to the next. The power of less applies to the book as well as the content - each sentence contains as much meaning and value as a page would in another book. You can apply the techniques in this book to any area of your life and gain positive change - by prioritising, relaxing and aiming to do less you end up doing more of what's important, more of what you want. I'd recommend this book to anyone who wants a more peaceful and more productive life.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2011
Such an accessible read, with practical tips you can easily put into place immediately. The whole book is full of common sense ideas, but sometimes we all get caught up in the rush of our lives, we forget to apply common sense! This book doesn't patronise the reader, it's been an inspiring read - one that I've recommended to several people in the last week.

If life is too full on, and you're losing yourself in everything you 'have' to do - this is the book for you.

Enjoy!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2010
There's not much in here that's not on the website, and the author has now revised his thoughts on some of the suggestions of the book. That said however, the book is a very light, easy read while still packed with useful practicable thoughts. The applications of his philosophy are illustrated with stories from his life, which make them easier to understand and apply to your own.

I'm sure there's something in there for everyone; even if it's just serving as a reminder as to what's important in your life and what's not.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2013
some useful insights, more life guidelines than management advice. OK for a quick read, no need to say anything else
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)