Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
138
4.6 out of 5 stars
Little Mercies
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 2 June 2017
Omg I just loved this ! It was so beautifully written I literally felt every emotion that Ellen went through when her life was totally spun upside down by a life changing accident.This is the first book I have read from this author and can't wait to read more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
Another absolutely brilliant book by Heather. I would recommend this to anyone who loves contemporary fiction. The characters are fine examples of everyday people. human beings make mistakes and this book show how one event. an overlay, can set in motion sequences of events that almost destroy many lives. Twists and turns, suspense it has it all this is one very gripping emotionally charged book so get the tissues ready
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2017
Thoroughly enjoyed my first Heather Gudenkauf novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Very good author Would buy her work again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
I would recommend this book. For someone who doesnt get much down time to read... i made sure to make time to finish this one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
Heather Gudenkauf's books are consistently enthralling. They are books that I start reading and find that I can't put down!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2017
Excellent book from start to finish, highlights that any one of our lives can change for the worse in seconds but that good will prevail in the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
I've read most books by this author and enjoyed them. This one was good, likeable characters. A good holiday read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2017
love it !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 23 June 2014
I absolutely loved this read. Ellen is a social worker, dedicated to the vulnerable and abused children she has sworn to protect. If you can image the most vile thing that one human thing can do to another - then she has seen that thing. She is also a wife and mother and balancing her two roles can sometimes feel like walking a tightrope.

One small mistake, one which sadly I could easily imagine happening, and when you read about it your jaw will drop, will turn the tables on Ellen completely, the rug will be pulled from under her feet and she will see the system "from the other side".

The story is told from her perspective as well as that of Jenny, a ten year old girl, separated from her father who has arrived in Cedar City alone with a bit of money, and address scrawled on an envelope and the knowledge that she must stay away from those in authority. She finds help in the form of Maudeen a local kind hearted waitress and when Jenny's story collides with that of Ellen, they will both find that they have something to offer the other.

It is an absolutely spellbinding read, parts of which are quite harrowing - the stories of what some of the children that Ellen has met in her professional life have suffered would absolutely break your heart. The characters are believable, acting in believable ways. I particularly liked how Ellen's children are portrayed, Lucas and Leah are going through a particularly traumatic time and it shows - they are not little angels every second of the day, they are behaving like all children do at one point or another.

The story moves at a good pace and I found I just did not want to put it down, I had to keep on reading until it reached its conclusion. I really cared for and worried about the characters, wanting everything to work out for them.

Settle down on the sofa with plenty of snacks and drinks, start at page one and I will see you at the end!

Many thanks to the publisher for the ARC in return for an honest review.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Missing Pieces
£3.33
Not a Sound
£6.37

Need customer service? Click here