Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 January 2015
This book is excellent. A must read for anyone wanting to delve a little deeper into how biology impacts human health and well-being. The author explains some complex topics very well, with some excellent examples of epigenetics in action. Bring on book two!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2012
Straightforward for those who know their a level bio, slightly less so for those who don't but it doesn't matter because this lady's got some creative examples that'll easily make sense of it for you but then again if you don't do bio it'd be a dumb idea to buy it in the first place. Informative and intriguing, it sparks your inquisitveness to know more and to actually stop for a second and think about it, and for those who've already got the curiousity this will be a real treat. I rate this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2012
I thought that this book gave me an insightful view on how epigenetics may be the next area of great scientific interest as it can produce treatments for some major conditions such as diabetes and Alzheimer's. This book even though it explains the science well has to be read by someone who has some understanding of genetics and the cell but nor does anyone have to be an expert as an alevel student with an interest I found it reasonably easy to understand the vast majority of the book without having to look anything up
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
This is a topic that has opened my eyes to the world of epigenetics. She has done a good job of making complex aspects appear simple and also has a good sense of humour. Some pages I found too complex to understand, but that is probably because i am not clever enough. I hope she writes more books on genetics to open up the subject even more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
Being a scientist I think I had a headstart when reading this - however, it is extremely well written and all concepts are articulately explained so as to be easily understood by non-scientists.

Provides an interesting review of this subject area for both scientists interested in epigenetic research and the curious layman.

Recommend to anyone interested in the history and current status of epigenetic research.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
I am a 17 year old who is applying for university. I needed to read something related to my course (biochemistry) for some background knowledge and stumbled across this book. It is great for someone who either loves biology or for someone like me eho is doing a course like biochemistry. Very interesting and relates to the history of biology aswell.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
Good stuff: up to date, clearly written. Full of examples & applications of interest to anyone &, as far as I can tell, accurate. It's an expanding field & should be pursued by anyone who already has some understanding of DNA & Genetics to begin with.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2012
A very interesting read. Written in a fresh, lively, riveting style by a scientist who appears to succeed in covering all areas of the topic, and presents alternative views as well. This should be a compulsory read for all, who want to be thought of as well informed about our current problems. Pure science blended with basic explanations that enables anyone, who got past GCSEs, to understand fully which directions genetics research is developing, and what the current results are.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
This book is fantastic! It introduces the concepts slowly and then proceeds to discuss a very complicated subject in an understandable manner. Would highly recommend this book for anyone interested in starting epigenetics or with an interest in why biology happens as it does!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2015
Some great information, and covers the latest research in epigenetics. Unfortunately I found the style a little disjointed, and delved a little too deeply into some esoteric areas - although some readers may appreciate this level of detail. I'd recommend reading the first half, then skipping th second half!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)