Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 April 2015
This is one of the best introduction books on positive psychology I have ever come across: clear, easy-to-read and well-structured, it offers a magnificent summary of 21 of the most relevant topics of this relatively new science. In chapter 22 the author sums up the main points and in the last six pages she recommends useful resources and links. One customer, who has been very critical, states in his review that there was a lack of citations. I personally did not miss the references, but I know that the author would be delighted to make them accessible on demand.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
Written in a clear way and summarises scientific research on effective ways to improve mood, communication and general life skills. I've already recommended it to several friends.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
Excellent introduction into positive psychology. An intelligent style of writing, not at all patronizing, but easy to read. Certainly made me think!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2012
This is a very accessible, practical and comprehensive guide to positive psychology. Bridget writes with a style that is wonderfully straightforward while being hugely informative. I love that she keeps reminding readers to take what they need from the information rather than just swallow it all. Her expertise and knowledge of the subject shines through this is a book that will be of great value to anyone who wants to know more about how to improve their life skills and develop their wellbeing and happiness. A wonderful resource and the perfect size for a handbag.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2012
At the start of this 'small but perfectly formed' book, the author sets her stall out by offering the reader "something useful, inspirational or thought-provoking". She doesn't disappoint, or, stated positively, she succeeds for me! Having studied positive psychology, it is no mean feat to summarise this huge field, and in 22 brief chapters the reader is treated to an up-to-date scientific overview of each of the dominant topics (such as: strengths; emotional intelligence; mindsets and optimism)as well as plenty of 'how to's'. It is the latter that sets this book apart. There are quite a lot of books on the market that will summarise positive psychology for you, but very few that show you how to apply it in such a practical, easy to absorb way. If you want a book on positive psychology that is fresh and modern, easy to read and packed full with ideas for applying it to your own life - I suspect this will be the best value for money you can buy.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2012
I found this an excellent read and a great introduction to Positive Psychology. As with her other books the author's style is a perfect balance between presenting the academic side of the subject and also making the subject personally relevant. This pocket size book will, I have no doubt, prove to be an invaluable asset both for students starting in the discipline and for those wanting to understand how to make the most of their strengths and personal assets.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2012
This book provides a well-written, clear and succinct overview of the key concepts in Positive Psychology,
containing PP tools/activities, ideal for use in coaching settings.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2012
I really like this book, as it was an easy to read explanation to the principles of Positive Psychology.

I particularly liked the practical elements that really did work in helping maintain a positive outlook on a daily basis. So often books like these are full of academic babble with very little in the way of practical solutions. This book is not one of those books.

A great gift for anyone wanting to acquire simple strategies to a happier life. Even if you are a "Glass Half Full" person.

Keep an eye open for the online resources. I found them a lot of fun as well as being informative.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2015
Really enjoyed this book. Liked the way it had tasks and the links to websites.
Sounds cheesy but this book changed my life!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2012
If you have been wondering what Positive Psychology is and what it can do for you then this is the perfect introduction. Bridget writes clearly and concisely to show you around the world of positive psychology which is the scientific study of optimal wellbeing. Each chapter introduces a subject area and offers ideas you can try out for yourself. She encourages you to explore what will work for you at your own pace. The resources section at the close of the book recommends websites where you can continue to explore this new and interesting branch of psychology.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)