Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
73
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 January 2012
This book is well written and organised. Some critics have said it is "witty", I prefer to say that some part of it, mostly near the end, is "tongue in cheek" kind of humour. Very well researched, makes me wonder how dare those best sellers even publish a book on gender difference with just rough misinterpreted researches and here say. This is a high quality book written by a high quality person, who doesn't think her readers are dumb heads to be fooled around with. If you have a daughter, read it; if you are in education, read it; if you are a woman who is deciding which route to chose as future career, read it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2012
Well, if you want a book that makes you stop and think, then click the "buy now" button now!
It challenges stereotypes about men and women (and their brain) in a simple but effective way, allowing a layperson like me to understand scientific research on the matter. As a woman, I feel much more empowered after reading this book and I will put it on my list of presents for family and friends.
(well, at least the female ones!)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2015
Fine does a remarkable job of illustrating why neuroscience - commonly held to be one of the "hardest" and most objective measure in behavioral study - is in fact subject to many of the same biases we see and reproduce all too often in everyday life, which is something everyone exposed to the popularization of its results (that is, nearly everyone) should recognise. "Delusions of Gender" deserves all the stars I can give it for its subject matter and impact alone, but Fine's sharp and witty style along with her thoroughness in exposing unwarranted scientific claims does nothing to diminish its impression.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
This is a serious and weighty topic, well handled and clearly presented. Very thought provoking, meticulously researched and truly well written. It is entertaining to read, which is a huge achievement for such a serious topic. Very highly recommended!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
If you go on what the media says, you might think that gender differences are immutable. This book shows the gaps in scientific knowledge and explores what we do know about gender.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
I had great expectations on this book and it absolutely delivered. Cordelia Fine explains why certain theories about gender differences are absolute make-believe. Do buy
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2010
Just when it looked like neuroscience was justifying our current worldview that innate differences are somehow "hardwired" into the brains of little boys and little girls author Cordelia Fine comes along and checks out the scientific studies. What she exposes and describes in detail are poorly designed experiments, blind leaps of faith and convoluted circular reasoning. In scientists! According to what Fine uncovered we have mutable brains, continuously influenced and changed by our cultural environment. Besides being thought provoking--it may make you rethink a lot of your beliefs--this book is both funny and well written.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
Thought provoking but not excessively dry, it's written with humour (as well as some anger) and is not a hard read at all
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
this is a fantastic book, and a must read for anyone in looking to get a broader perspective on how gender and sexuality are enforced in society. did it help me make sense of what i'm going through? indirectly yes, but that's not the point - first you need to see how your perception of gender has been tainted by patriarchal society: deconstruct it, clear away the false consciousness you've created and then perhaps you'll see - as i have begun to - where transgender really originates from.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2014
Wonderful to finally find such a well informed pop science book on gender. Lovely read, well written and beautifully argued, great read for anyone interested in gender differences.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)