Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
18
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.65+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 April 1998
Dr. Hinshelwood, one of the world's leading proponents of Kleinian psychoanalysis, has produced an interesting and readable synopsis of the work of the noted psychoanalyst, Melanie Klein.

Often difficult to understand, Mrs. Klein's work is centred on the intrapsychic aspects of human development. This slim volume allows the reader an opportunity to appreciate some of the more complex aspects of Kleinian thought.

Having digested Dr. Hinshelwood's excellent text entitled "Clinical Klein", I found the visual depictions in "Introducing Melanie Klein" of some of the same cases described in his other work to be helpful and clarifying.

I would recommend any interested reader pick up both volumes and use the "Introducing..." book as a quick reference guide to the "Clinical..." text.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2001
This is an excellent, clear, and user-friendly introduction to the life and work of the psychoanalyst Melanie Klein. Although I knew a little about the subject to begin with, I would guess that this book would be understandable by anyone without any prior knowledge. My only cavil is that it would be nice to have bit more textual content for the price. Nevertheless, very highly recommended.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2009
This is an excellent overview of Melanie Klein's work. Ideal for students, clinicians or anybody interested in an easy, accessable intoduction to the complex work of Mrs Klein.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
If you are new to study psychology or psychotherapy/counselling this book provides an easy introduction to the complex world of a difficult lady who had to fight for her right to be heard in the male dominated world that was psychoanalysis.
As co-author I may appear biased but I've only ever received £30 in royalties, my bias is not financially driven (publisher is making the money)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2014
The graphics enhance the text and bring the content alive.
This whistlestop tour through Klein, her life and her work would be great for anyone new to Klein, or for a refreshing of her ideas.
A pioneer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2015
Although I accept that this is an introduction to Melanie Klein's work I found it far too basic even for an introduction. The author barely mentions Klein's extension and elaboration of Freud's Oedipus complex, nor was there that much on the early defense mechanisms , nor was there anything like a proper description of the archaic drives . I wouldn't recommend this book. Hanna Segal's 'Melanie Klein' is still the best introduction.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
Needed desperately some clarity and this provided it. It became less flowing towards the end with the theory and life events converging unhelpfully.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
A very accessible little read which gives quite an overview of her often baffling theories and helps to make them somewhat more understandable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
It's just ok I dont know what I was Expecting but Im not n ot that excited with the graphics
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
Good enough publication. Whether or not it will persuade any in the theories and practice of Klein, not sure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse