Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 September 2014
An excellent, informal introduction to linguistics. A great read for anyone curious about how languages evolved and developed.

It loses a star for the poor diagrams that don't appear well in a regular black and white Kindle. If you've a tablet, it might be better reading the book on it so you can see clearly the diagrams.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
Love the contents of this book. Being an ESL teacher, I love everything to do with linguistics of course, and this book tops them all. It gives you short excerpts about what language is all about, where it came from, how it developed and how it's going to die also!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
This book does not work well on Kindle. Each graphic page contains text that is integral to the printed text. Unfortunately it is impossible to enlarge the text within the graphics. This means that some of those pages cannot be read because they have been condensed to fit the format of Kindle. I had hoped that there would be more content discussing the origins of our language but this book really does do what it says on the cover and is a study of the science of linguistics. It is none the less interesting for that. I may have given more stars if I had been able to read all the pages.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2012
Very interesting subject!. The book does a good job explaining the key areas. Some interesting chapters on how some languages share a lot in common. Also a few pages are set aside for explaining Chomsky's theories. Some interesting pages on word order and there was also some fascinating pages on sexism in language.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2014
Whilst the print version may be a great read - this book is impossible to read on a kindle. There are tables and drawings which are too small to read - they are not made any larger if you make the font bigger. I am very disappointed with this product.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2016
The book is a very easy read and the illustrations add a light, amusing, touch to what could be quite an academic topic. I have read a few books now on the subject and wish I'd read this first as it provides a rapid overview. It could afford to go a bit deeper into some of the topics though without losing much of its accessibility.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2014
The text in the diagrams is an intrinsic part of the general text but the diagrams do not appear on the KindlFire HDX at a size that makes it legible. The first few pages are not written in a page turning style. Nonetheless an interesting book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2016
Easy to digest, and a good introduction to the topic. Very broad, and opens doors for more specific research. The images made me smile sometimes, too. Which was nice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2016
This book gave a brief history of linguistics in laymen terms. As an introduction to some of the ideas in linguistics it is fine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2015
An important text for my daughter considering a degree in linguistics or partially so!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)