Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 2 May 2017
Fantastic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2012
Bought this publication for a family member who was pleased with it. Havn't heard of any problems with it so assume all is good!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
great quality and speedy delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Bought for my 11 yr old's birthday - he loves this book! Dead simple idea, easy to do anywhere (good for car journeys too!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2015
In the days of pen and paper, when apple was nothing more than a fruit to eat, and a PC was a policeman, kids had to find other forms of entertainment. Enter the fighting fantasy series.

Firetop Mountain is where the dream began, where you had to fight the temptation not to cheat and flick ahead a few pages to see if your choice was the correct one, and where the sleeping troll always had a knack of waking up and giving you a smack off the chops!

These books were once the stuff dreams were made of, where imagination was fired, and wet bank holidays were made a little more bearable, when TV (with only 4 channels back then) was filled with rubbish.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2003
The Warlock of Firetop Mountain is a great book and the best place to start your adventures in Fighting Fantasy gamebooks. They're so original. How many stories are there in which YOU can are the hero? YOU decide the path of the adventure. I LOVE THEM! THey're so atmospheric. I bought my first one a couple of months ago and I've now got the first 7. I haven't completed all of them yet.
If you haven't bought any Fighting Fantasy book yet, then do. And buy this one first.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2017
Famously this book was co-written by Jackson and Livingstone. However the way they tackled it was that one of them (I forget which) took the first half and the other, the second. What this means is that once you cross the river, the style suddenly changes. The second half of the book is a maze and becomes quite frustrating as you constantly end up flicking between the same few pages. Maybe I should have heeded the advice at the start and drawn a map.
The rest of the adventure is great fun. Its not as sophisticated as some of the later books but there is a certain nostalgic value to this being the first one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2017
I'm a big D&D fan, and this book is very much in that style. You don't even need the 2d6 as the book has random rolls printed at the bottom of the pages. I'd totally recommend photocopying the adventure sheet out of the back though, as you'll probably end up writing on it quite a lot.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2005
The Warlock of Firetop Mountain is the first game book in the fantastic Fighting Fantasy game book series started by British authors Ian Livingstone and Steve Jackson.
This book is half game and half novel. It takes the form of a medieval, sword and sorcery adventure in a fantasy world. The book can't be read from front to back, like a conventional story, but is arranged into 400 separate references that all have different options.
You jump from reference number to reference number, depending on what options you wish to choose, thus creating your own, unique, adventure where you effectively select your own path through the book each time. This is very entertaining and an original idea that can lead to different outcomes upon multiple readings of the same book.
The Warlock of Firetop Mountain takes place in a fantasy land called Allansia. You play the role of a swordsman hero, charged with the dangerous missions of slaying an evil wizard called Zagor. However, your adventure takes you deep into the subterranean caverns of his lair; Firetop Mountain.
This is a great adventure game book. You have to navigate a complex, underground maze system within the rock of a mountain to reach your goal. There are other objects that you must collect during your quest too if you're to be successful overall, as killing the tyrannical warlock is only half of it. However, I won't reveal the other aspects of the adventure here, so I won't spoil it for the first time reader.
The maze is great fun to explore and investigate, making a map with a pencil and paper is well recommended too. When I first played it, I got hopelessly lost within Zagor's complex labyrinth as it all looks so similar that you tend to end up going in circles around the tunnels without even realising it.
Firetop Mountain is also full of lots of nasty traps, tricks and monsters. As you adventure around, flicking from reference number to reference number, you have to avoid traps, fight hostile creatures via an ingenious combat system that involves the use of dice and find and collect various artefacts that will be useful of even vital to completing you mission later on.
Altogether, Warlock of Firetop Mountain is a great Fighting Fantasy game book adventure. A solid underground dungeon adventure with plenty of things to keep you interested. It's also quite hard to finish successfully and will probably require multiple attempts before you manage to destroy the warlock and grab his treasure for yourself. But the effort is worth it.
This is a cool game book in the series. The first one that started the whole craze and is definitely worth buying and playing on a dark, rainy, overcast weekend, as it'll get you in the mood for some hazardous cave exploring.
Acquire, read and enjoy; it's a classic of Fighting Fantasy.
11 Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
10/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse