Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 June 2017
Received very quickly. Nice copy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
This book concentrates on Thomas's God poems and it's interesting to have so many of them collected together. The book is designed as a pilgrimage, with a poem for each day of the year, a short suggestion of an imaginative or practical excercise that comes from the theme of the poem, and then a slightly longer reflection. There are no wasted words in either the poems or Jim Cotter's reflections. There is a pleasingly sparse feel to the book, with a poem to each left hand page, Cotter's words on the right, and much blank space inbetween, which fits exactly with the austerity of Thomas's poetry. Some simple line drawings and atmospheric black and white photographs of the coast around Aberdaron, where both Thomas and Cotter have served as priest, compliment the text.
After the poems, near the end of the book, there are two sections of questions; the first are some of the many questions found in Thomas's poems, and the second are questions asked by Jesus in the gospels. It is certainly striking to read both sections, and adds another dimension to the book. The questions of Jesus are a resource in themselves.
It would be ideal for use on a retreat, especially at the coast, but actually I read it at the furthest place from the sea in the UK, and it still worked well for me. Though the book is designed to be read over a year, I actually found it very useful as a Lent book; the simplicity of the design, the austerity of the poems, the direct nature and depth of Jim Cotter's further reflections, and the penetrating questions at the end, all go towards it being a deeply thought-provoking read. That Jim Cotter died during Holy Week 2014, just as I was completing it, made it seem even more poignant.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
This is a meditation workbook. The top left of each double-page spread (there are fifty-two of them, meant to be followed every week for a year) has an excerpt from the poetry of R. S. Thomas. The bottom right has some question or reflection, maybe a task, by Jim Cotter. The idea is to fill in the blank space in between with some writing, a picture or perhaps a photograph. We are told where most of these poems were written so the readers could visit these places as a part of a pilgrimage.

The author was vicar in the last of Thomas’s churches, Aberdaron, and this book was originally printed by the parishioners.

The poems are too deep for me and the reflections too mature but I am sure that many will benefit from this book. Indeed, one of my closest friends already has.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
Jim Cotter followed on from the last post that R.S.Thomas held before he retired and read widely of Thomas's poetry - he too absorbed the landscape of the Llÿn peninsular and felt it speaking to him; this is a collection of short and accessible poems, one for each week of the year, plenty to work and walk with. Jim also created a DVD where he further brought the poems to life in their own landscape - that, too, is well worth a viewing, especially Jim's extra interview. Jim picks up where R.S.Thomas left off and the special land at the end of Wales becomes alive.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
This is a great anthology of the poems by R S Thomas put together with great sensitivity and feeling by Jim Cotter. It contains additional notes evoking the landscape of North Wales which inspired the poems.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
Useful for those trying to understand a complex man writing complex poetry Worth time and effort - but not a simple introduction
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
I like this selection of RS Thomas poems- he is a favourite of mine in any case. The simplicity of the layout encourages one to be more reflective and take the time to read and re- read a single poem, or verse of a poem.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2016
The cover for this book hinted to me more of the same inside, especially as the book description includes photos inside. Be prepared to be very disappointed! There are two groggy black and white photos at the beginning of the book before the text begins. The quality of the paper feels like recycled paper. I imagined that for such a spiritual book and how previous reviewers had explained "space for reader's contemplation and responses" the paper and space would be clean and white. If I was R.S. Thomas I would be very angry. Presentation does not reflect content.

I've bought the book now and feel inclined to re-type it onto clean, white paper and to find photos of places which Thomas's poetry refers to for "quiet contemplation and reflection" and re-present this book for my own personal and private use in a way which I think is more deserving. I suggest other readers who would like this book first look to see if it has been printed elsewhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2014
I love the poetry of RS Thomas and admire Jim Cotter. There are some interesting reflections but I don't always agree with his interpretations of the poems. It's a pity there is no index.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2015
In excellent condition, as a new book should be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse