Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
22
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
20
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£40.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 June 2015
Super book. Joan Eardley was a brilliant Scottish painter. This book contains some great drawings and paintings of people, mainly children which were her subject and landscape/seascapes. Her use of colour and line are extraordinary beautiful. She is definitely an artist to explore and this is a very good book to have on this artist.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2016
I found several times that there is a professional statement of/by Joan Eardley that has me saying yes. Currently re-reading to write those parallel intentions into my notebook!
Pity so many 'land/seascapes' are so dark - possibly more variation in the skin.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
Nice presentation of the work of Joan Eardley. Good choice of paintings and the bio was informative for a book of this size. One didn't overpower the other. Joan's work is strong and individual and it is a treat to be able to have a collection of her work.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2017
Lovely book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 12 July 2013
This book has been produced in association with The Scottish Gallery and the Portland Gallery. I feel almost ashamed to admit that I had never heard of Joan Eardley before seeing this book. I've seriously missed out. She is considered to be one of the most influential Scottish painters of her generation. Her life was not a long one, 1921-63, yet she was a prolific artist. Her art was much influenced by her Scottish surroundings, the landscape and the people of Scotland are featured in her work. Wild winter seascapes painted from a cliff top, small fishing villages, the weather, the fields were all subjects for her brushes. Early in her career she depicted children from the Glasgow tenements. This book provides a fresh assessment of her work, looking at her Scottishness and universal appeal. There are glimpses of the artist's life from quotes and letters never seen before. A chronology of her life forms part of the book. I was fascinated by her style in paintings such as 'Girl in Yellow Holding Baby'. I found myself ultimately drawn to her seascapes just as the sea draws one in in real life. There is a wonderful depth and texture to these paintings. I love 'Boats and the Sea', 'The Sea No. 6', 'The Sea No. 4', 'Foam With Blue Sky'. Her ever changing subject matter also embraced sunsets, a fine example is 'Setting Sun' and female nudes 'Female Nude On The Ground' a charcoal drawing, and portraits such as 'Jeannie'. She used mainly oil on board, but also charcoal, gouache and other mediums. I enjoy the vibrancy and movement in her work. This is a beautifully produced book with excellent reproductions of the works in different sizes and intelligent, interesting text that I would happily recommend to anyone.
11 Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2013
JOAN EARDLEY by Christopher Andreae is a wonderful book. The art (especially the oils of Glasgow slum children and Scottish landscapes in different weathers) by this exceptional artist are beautifully reproduced. Mr. Andreae has a highly readable style and this book shows his extensive research. Here is an insightful portrayal of the artist. The many illustrations (including drawings) seem carefully selected. There is an elemental quality about Eardley's art. That she often worked in inclement weather and when in poor health shows the spirit of this "uniquely original artist."

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and recommend it. In addition Mr. Andreae, by focusing on British women artists: Mary Newcomb (2005), Mary Fedden (2007 ,Winifred Nicholson (2009) is providing a real service to art history.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
This is a great book with excellent reproductions about an impotant painter. The text, by various authors, examines different aspects of her work and life and quotes greatly from her letters. The pictures are well chosen, high quality, all in colour and feature many of her works on paper. She was a born painter, driven to make ambitious works (she painted large unweildy seascapes on location in the wildest of storms), which were full of humanity (she had a passion for unsentimantal, painterly and entirely true portraits of children). Her work grew and grew and her life story is very sad, as she died as she was making her greatest picturres, at the moment when it was just beginning to become more widely recognised.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
I loved the colour plates of paintings and sketches, in addition to images of
Joan Eardley at work. The text seemed a tad disjointed, but very well researched.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2013
If like me you are obsessed with art and artists, then this is the book for you. It gives you an insight into the artists life and what makes her tick. An easy compelling read from start to finish. Good colour reproductions of her work, which are truely inspirational.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2015
Because she's a women she's been over looked for to long .When I first came across her I could only find one book so it's good to know that now there are more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)