Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 August 2017
An easy read. From humble beginnings to Ironman; a journey that is inspiring and entertaining without a hint of pretention. Holgs loves what he does and just wants to tell you about his exploits.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
Good quality for the money. Fast delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2017
Absolutely inspiring. If this doesn't get you training for a triathlon nothing will.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
Thoroughly enjoyed this book, and another inspirational book I have read whilst laid up waiting for an operation before my iron journey starts
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2013
He writes well. A funny recount of his trials and tribulations on his journey towards being an Ironman - and seriously who doesn't want to be an Ironman?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
As a former couch potato turned runner, I love to read 'fat to fit' stories - but the way this is written is better suited to a blog than a book. As others have noted, it's way too cliched, and you don't really get a sense of the sheer hard bloody work and emotional turmoil you have to go through to get to the point where you can run more than a mile without feeling exhausted.

I tried but just couldn't finish it - sorry Andy.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
I wasn't sure whether to give this book a five star review or a one star review.

Five stars because it is an entertaining and engrossing read. Once I picked it up I couldn't put it down. And yes, it is inspirational in a way that many other books that claim to be fail to be. As the sub-title says, it really is the story of "common man" (yes, that's you and me) to Ironman.

Which leads me to thinking it should be one star. Just four days after buying the book this runner-only has spent two grand on a racing bike and is checking out swimming lessons. I can only say if you don't want to be caught up in a sudden fervour to start training twenty to thirty hours a week in order to spend a day with other mentally deranged people physically exerting yourself to within a whisker of death's door then leave this book well alone.
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2016
Very entertaining. Great story and a joy to read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2011
I was recommended this book by a friend of mine from the RunnersWorld's forum. I've heard a lot about "IronHolgs" and can honestly say that this book was one of the most enjoyable reads that i've read this year. His down to earth writing style makes you really feel every emotion during the races and you're routing for him every step of the way. There's no pretense and he's very honest with the reader about what he's going through.

The flow of the book is very logical and the chapters were of a good length. IronHolgs shows the comradery and team spirit of the triworld very well.

Most of all - he's an inspiration and a fighter. After reading his book -it's made me bite the bullet and sign up for a triathlon... I cant swim but i'll try my hardest and i'll get there slowly!

If you want a training plan for an Ironman - this isnt for you - if you want to read a detailed and emotive journey of one man's journey to an Ironman - then it's for you. This book is such a motivator to keep going at it and keep going despite whatever comes up against you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
The first 1/3 of the book (up to the Ironman) was entertaining and easy to read, the rest was a chore with dull description of his races, preparations and other benign things of ordinary life... Got really tired of short descriptive sentences, not a literature masterpiece that some reviews claim it to be.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)