Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Steps Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
50
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 April 2012
i loved this book - it evoked fond memories of Cornwall and had me chuckling away!
Great characters and a true feel for the Cornish countryside - a must-have read for all who have connections with Cornwall.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2012
I read this book whilst on my holidays in Cornwall. A fabulous, easy to read holiday book, which
kept me laughing and it really captures the charm of Cornwall and make you want to visit.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2012
Tessa Hainsworth's third book about life in Cornwall did not disappoint. As with Tessa's previous two books, I was there in Cornwall seeing everything with my own eyes. I absolutely loved it! I escaped into it! Thank you Tessa. Just one teeny weeny question - how long before your next book?
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2012
I was brought the first book (Up with the Larks) as a gift from a colleague who was leaving for a new job, and it was chosen as I have been working for Royal Mail for the past twenty-six years. The first book took me back to my first day as a postman in Birmingham and I read the book over a weekend; I just couldn't put in down. I have recommended the book to a number of colleagues and family who have also enjoyed the three books so far. I must admit I have been just a bit envious that Tessa is delivering around the beautiful Cornish countryside and meeting such interesting people rather than walking round the backstreets of inner-city Birmingham. I have not mentioned the story line - that for you to buy read and enjoy - I'm sure you won't be disappointed. Can't wait for the next book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 October 2012
I have read Tessa's first two books (Up with the Larks and Seagulls in the Attic) and I enjoyed them both. They follow Tessa as she, and her family, move to Cornwall.

In this book they have settled and Tessa is enjoying her life as a postwoman. We hear about her neighbours eccentric ways and the people she gets to meet (and help) on her post round. Her friend Annie has moved from London and is getting used to the Cornish way, and pace, of life.

What I really like about these books is that you really get to know the people. There are some laugh out loud moments as well as some sadder tales. These really are good, cosy reads and perfect for this time of year.

The only thing I really didn't like about this book was the way it is so anti-tourism. That is surely what keeps Cornwall's economy going? Tessa herself relies on tourists to rent out her house. It smacks a little bit of 'we just want their money, but not the hassle that comes with it.'

I did like this book and feel it's a good read. You do need to read them in order though, as they start with Tessa's decision to move to Cornwall. The order is 'Up with the Larks'; 'Seagulls in the attic' and 'Home to Roost.'
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 August 2013
I had my doubts as to whether Tessa Hainsworth could actually get a third book out of her exploits as the local postie in a Cornish village and its surrounding areas. She has and actually she has done it with the wonderful style and descriptive quality of her previous two.

Known as the Posh Postie, Tessa is very much part of the village now and the locals although they know she has been there a mere three years, she is certainly more like one of them than some of the more recent folk from up country (anyone from anywhere apart from Cornwall).

In this book, Tessa's closet friend Annie has certainly embraced life in a Cornish village since moving from London, but it looks like she might have to move again away from Tessa and start a whole new life. There are some new residents and neighbours for Tessa to get to know, Kate and Leon who are wanting to escape the rat race and retire (despite being in their forties much to Tessa's chagrin). It looks like there will be more friendly faces and more people to get involved in the local community. Suddenly Tessa realises that perhaps not everyone can settle into life down there and get as involved and dirty in some cases with what is going on. They are trying to find a paradise that only exists in their minds and not embracing what is actually out there to experience. It is at this point that Tessa really does feel like she belongs.

Trees that are in danger of collapsing but have rooks in cause problem for a local couple, the cry of the peacock is a nuisance but it seems someone wants rid of the noise completely, blossoming love between locals shows that it is never too late to find love. It can sometimes be the knowledge of a postie to bring these people together - knowing what their likes and dislikes are. The locals look out for each other, their parents did and now they are, but sometimes it becomes too much and it has to have intervention from an outsider which brought a few tears to my eye when they were trying to help one resident. Through all these comings and goings, Tessa tries to keep delivering the mail throughout all seasons and all weathers which it seems Cornwall has an abundance of, She is even starting to think like a local and predict from nature exactly what the weather is going to do.

But Tessa is not shy in explaining that it is not all a bed of roses, changing your lifestyle completely, they do struggle as a family to make ends meet and are always looking for ways to make extra money. Or simply using the barter principle of sharing produce and baked goods in return for something that they don't have. When Tessa thinks renting her house out for the summer could be a viable option, the rental agency promptly give a shopping list of what would be required to succeed. Perhaps there could be a less expensive and more friendlier option?

Through a year, throughout the seasons, Tessa shares her love of the landscape, the weather and the animals and birds of the area and the importance of actually appreciating these seemingly small things in life to give you a much richer existence. This is a book which brings the reality of downsizing from city to country to the forefront and if you only want to dream about doing such a thing then this and her other novels are for you.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
Great book ,describes so well what Cornish life is all about third in series can't wait for next one .Tessa has done a wonderful job of writing about Cornwall and how people who have second homes have effected the local peoples econey well done
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
Third book from Tessa Hainsworth - a slightly different slant and theme to this one but definitely just as enjoyable as the previous two book. Familiar characters and a feel good and homely feel. Cannot wait for the next one!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2014
This third book by Tessa continues the story of her new life in Cornwall where she has (almost) become accepted by the locals. Her love of the country life is very evident in this book and how she and her family are now fully immersed into the village community. A book to be enjoyed by those who like a story with a feel good factor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2016
The third book in a series (so far) of 3. Nicely told tales about living in Cornwall as a new comer and her family's new life after London. An easy read full of interesting and real characters in the village and environs of a coastal village in Cornwall. Definitely worth the read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)