Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more


on 6 January 2018
I don't know why I haven't purchased this book before. It is excellent value for money, plenty of good quality photographs and important to the modeller especially, detailed specifications of the various Bristol models. Plenty of information about the various spec. changes made to ECW bodies during the construction run too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 March 2016
This book should satisfy anyone with an interest in these companies products as it chronicles their history from formation to demise.
Vehicle types with various combinations of engines, running units, body styles, owners, numbers produced, it is all here in a compelling read.
Not an easy book to put down until you have finshed reading from cover to cover.
Thoroughly recommended!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 August 2017
As an owner of a Bristol bus I find that all books on Bristol/ECW interesting reading

each one has something of interest to my type of bus
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 February 2017
Very informative and useful in my study of buses
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 August 2014
Everything you ever wanted to know about those old Bristol buses that for ever remind you of childhood holidays.
Excellent pictures, both old and new, as well as anecdotes about the buses in service and in preservation.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 January 2016
Excellent! Just what a book about buses should be.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2014
Generally an excellent book but some illustrations of Bristol chassis as well as ECW bodies would not have gone amiss. On page 25 the author makes a serious howler in claiming that Leyland was nationalized in 1968 to become British Leyland. Leyland Motor Corporation merged in 1968 with British Motor Holdings (as British Motor Corporation had become following it's merger with Jaguar) to form British Leyland Motor Corporation. Although encouraged by the government of the day, this was a purely commercial enterprise. It was not until many years later (1975) that the the moribund BL became majority owned by the government (though not technically nationalized).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this history of the Bristol/ECW buses, particularly as I live just up the road from Lowestoft,and was a bus mechanic when I left school *ahem* years ago....
I would say this book is an essential 'must own' book for your library....
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 March 2015
This book contains a wealth of information about the design, production and sales of Bristol/ECW buses and coaches. For the most part, Bristols were highly standardised, and it is this which provided part of the fascination of the marque.

The book is let down by the photographic coverage, which includes quite a few shots taken against the light, so that either the front or side is in shade in many cases. Additionally, although perhaps inevitably, the photographic coverage seems to focus on the relatively few non-standard vehicles and liveries, whilst I would have liked to see more emphasis on the single-deck buses compared to the coaches.

I recommend this book to bus enthusiasts, however. In these days of expensive books, this one seems reasonable at £25.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2014
Good typography, lovely photos and well written. I bought this book as a present for my father because his first job in the 1940s was with the Bristol Bus company. He thoroughly enjoyed his time there and this book brought back many happy memories.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)