Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
14
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 27 February 2014
As the title suggests this is a fabulous and nostalgic view of a car that is largely ridiculed (square steering wheel anyone?) however it is written in a friendly and informative way with interesting facts. I particularly liked the sectioned layout, which takes you from the early origins all the way through to buying one in the present day. Ideal for casual interest or more serious perusers, there's a wealth of pictures and thoroughly researched information including technical specifications. Would make a great gift, overall I'm thrilled with my copy!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2014
The poor maligned All-aggro has been the subject of derision or apathy almost from the day it burst on the scene in May 1973. The much-loved Austin/Morris ADO16 range was always going to be hard act to follow and the new Austin - British Leyland's second major attempt to corner the light saloon market after the ADO28 Morris Marina of two years beforehand - had been so compromised during its gestation that it was fatally flawed from the outset. In other words, it was a classic British underdog disaster story. A book on the Allegro is arguably long overdue and so I was delighted to see Ben Wanklyn's slim but fascinating volume. If anything he has been too kind to the car and it's creators. But it is great to be able read all about it one place at last.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2014
I received this book for an Xmas present. I used to drive Allegro's and have loved/hated them ever since.
No matter what you think of the BL Allegro it is part of our motoring heritage and should be remembered.
I loved this book informative, well written and hugely entertaining. This is a must for any petrolheads book shelf.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
A lightweight if resolutely upbeat book on a car long-since relegated to the land of old-fashioned humour. The BMIHT archives have been heavily plundered for illustrations so there is very little fresh in the line of photos but the writers enthusiasm shines through. An excellent read of a neglected subject.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
detailed and interesting especially if you are older enough to remember then when they came out. quite nostalgic. i brock quit a few up in the day to get spare parts and use the back sub frame into a base for a trailer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2014
Apart from the AMC Pacer the Austin Allegro stands as one of the most ridiculed cars of the 1970's, it was the first major new product to be conceived and launch in the British Leyland era. Built to replace the much loved and very successful BMC 1100 series the Allegro arrived on the UK motoring scene in spring 1973 on a tidal wave of indifference. It was difficult to see at this time why BL had introduced this bizarre egg like vehicle to replace the 1100 which was a very well styled vehicle that had functionality in the Austin/Morris versions.a touch of sportiness in the MG 1100, and three degrees of luxury in the Riley & Wolsely versions culminating in the decidedly luxurious and stylish Vanden Plas Princess. So what did the Allegro bring to the party then? not a lot I think, there was the E series engine a heavy lump first seen in the Maxi, Hydragas suspension which probably was an improvement over it's predecessor, instead of different model ranges you had trim levels, so a middle class Wolesely of Vanden Plas owner had to slum it in an Austin and oh yes the notorious Quartic square steering wheel. Combined with dreadful build quality lousy industrial relations between the workforce and management didn't give an exactly good impression of a quality product. Six months later the Yom Kippur war followed by the quadrupling of oil prices by OPEC was one of the factors that led to BL's near collapse and nationalisation by the incoming Labour government in 1974 gave the Allegro a true baptism of fire in it's first year of production. Two years after launch two new models were introduced, the most important was the long awaited replacement for the 1100 Countryman estate by the Allegro estate and the truth to be told it was really pretty good even if it only had two doors it was miles better than it's Chrysler, Ford & Vauxhall rivals and a better load lugger than the aging Maxi. It didn't look bad either the new estate body looked like a marriage between the AMC Gremlin & the Reliant Scimitar GTE. The other new model was the replacement of the VP Princess which arrived as the Vanden Plas 1500 which got the same treatment as it's predecessor with leather and wood trimmings and a new grille at the front which gave the impression of a self propelled piggy bank, this really didn't have the style and grace of it's predecessor. Really that was about it there were some truly awful special versions culminating in the Equipe a truly ghastly combination of the unpopular two door body and the 1750 E series engine, coupled with a truly awful interior and stripes which resulted in yet another sales disaster. However much as I dislike the Allegro , I have really enjoyed Mr Wanklyn's book it's well written on a subject of which he truly loves, the photos in in the book give an excellent feel of the car's the adverts and the era of the 1970's, my only minor gripe is that I'd have liked to see more about the Innocenti Regent in Italy and New Zealand assembly. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and recommend it
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2014
Having owned an Allegro early in my driving experience I find this book a fun read because no matter what people say about these cars and no matter what quirks mine had they are a great starter classic and deserve to be restored or kept on the road. Lots of new facts to learn and many I already knew.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
I found this book very interesting I recommend this book to anyone with any nostalgic interest or who may wish to buy an Allegro to read this book first it tells you everything !!!.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
This is an interesting book with plenty of research and detail, about a car which suffered at the hands of the press. It really was nowhere near as bad as it was portrayed, and is still loved by a lot of people. There is a thriving Facebook page (Austin Allegro Appreciation Society) for owners and lovers of the car, with plenty of technical experts on hand to answer specific questions, but buy this book!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2017
perfect for the allegro owner
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)