Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
10
4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
2
3 star
4
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 December 2010
As a Domestic Energy Assessor (DEA) providing Energy Performance Certificates (EPCs) to estate agents, solicitors, private sellers and landlords, this is my 'bible'. I used it during my training and keep it as a handy reference. It is well written, by chartered surveyors and is clear and concise, without being too technical. I thoroughly recommend it to any DEA, whether already working or studying for the exam. The only DEA book you will need.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
I enjoyed reading this book, but with the Red 'New Edition' flash across the bottom corner of the cover, I expected it to be about 12 months old. I was wrong. I am interested in micro generation wind power.
Under Renewable Energy on p128 it mentions Windsave. It says that it is a recent development which makes wind energy much more accessible for most people.' That's great but when I research a bit more into the product/company, I find that Windsave went into administration in 2009. It's 2013 now so it's hardly 'New Edition'.
That aside, the book is a good read, but not bang up to date with technologies that may need to be added in the future.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2011
For someone who has little understanding of technical data this book does attempt to explain things in a straightforward manner. The book can be read from cover to cover or by dipping into different chapters in any order. Well worth the money and some really useful pointers.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2010
This is a good book, well researched and clearly explained. It is focused on the UK building regulations and practices, so a valuable resource for all those living in Britain, but not so useful if you are on the continent. The book is well illustrated, and offers a full introduction to most of the topics you need be concerned with, particularly for a new build, although much could be applied for renovating a house.
Clearly, as a small(ish) book, not everything can be covered in huge detail, but it does at least allow comparison of the relative merits of the different techniques.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
Out of date now, but book was informative. The renewable Energy sector moves very quick.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
This book is very useful for people interested in home energy efficiency. It covers aspects such as orientation, wind, materials, solar gain etc. It is also very easy to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2014
Part of an ongoing project to improve my home and make me free from the electricity and gas suppliers. Read what you will into that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2016
Enjoying reading this book prior to building an extension. Want to try and become more energy efficient in the new home.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2015
It's OK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2007
This is an excellent book. Read, enjoyed, and lent to others who have also appreciated its wisdom.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here